Monday, Jan. 02, 2006 - 2:24 PM

I am in that strange, limbo-like state of being Unemployed, at least for another 18 hours. All kinds of angst going on - I haven't been The Rookie for almost 3 years, how does one work in an office of People Exclusively Older Than Me? Also, the farther away your goal is, the less control you have over reaching it - Work is about a 2-hour subway-subway-busride away, and as there are only 2 buses an hour, I'm cutting it fine. Will have to get up at 5:30am every day, just to get there for 8am. In personal lexicon of cruelty, that's brutal (falling just short of goat-blowing.) When you consider that I'll be getting home around 7pm, and having to go to sleep at 9:30pm just to wake up on time the next morning, you'll see why.

Last day of BB was interesting. I could feel Ed (merch mgr.) keeping his eyes on me all day, as if watching what I'd do, if I'd slack off, what I'd say. I kept it professional, and only slacked off when people asked me about the new job, which Ed seemed ok with. It's nice to feel warm and fuzzy, and I got the chance to tell a few of my favourite customers I'd be leaving, and collect some email addresses. Ed gave me a hug when I left, and said "Anything you need, ok?" very gruffly.

(Sidenote: for a kitty who just horked on the floor 20 minutes ago, Nibbley is suddenly very loud and demanding.)

Off to go get full-length mirror, groceries and toiletries, seeing as I have to be all professional-like now.

I'm not ever going to say this out loud, but - I hope I can hack this.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?