Sunday, Jun. 11, 2006 - 9:49 PM

Wow. I just keep saying it, but it's been AGES since I updated. Currently: painting my nails irridescent purple, listening to "Faster Kill Pussycat" (Oakenfold and Brittany Murphy; it grows on you.) Waiting for Rick to come to bed. Planning out my week. Thinking about how to apply to Filogix. Tickling Nibbley with my toes. Over the last month and a half, I:

- wrote my National Knowledge Exam. I THOUGHT it went well, but it's hard to tell, the way they mark. Example: Competition a) has its advantages, b) has its disadvantages c) has its price or d) has its place in international development. I mean SERIOUSLY, what the fuck kind of question is that?! How can you answer that?? What's the context?? According to whom??? (The answer's (c) apparently.) There's no way you can study for that or logic it out unless it's a direct quote, and since there's no single textbook for the exam because it's NATIONAL and some provinces don't even have an academic requirement to WRITE IT... arg. Anyway, it's another couple of weeks before I find out my marks.

- Had big blow-up fight with my mother (first time since we moved), and since then everything's been a lot easier, she's trying more to communicate and understand me (she's finally reading "Da Vinci Code", since she refuses to read Pratchett, Harry Potter, Wyndham or anything else I read.) I think things will improve.

- We got the apartment in Dave's building, 3 floors down from him on the diametrically opposite corner of the building. Ours overlooks a little parkette with a BBQ that belongs to the building, and it's nice and shady and green. I love renting: no taxes, no hydro, no responsibility. This building's more like a condo, all kinds of classes are offered: watercolours and tai chi and pilates and yoga and swimming lessons and a bunch of other stuff. I hope dance lessons are offered, because I want some. We move in July.

- We decided to go with Fantasy Farm, where my parents got married. Largely due to the fact that they offered us a REALLY GOOD deal and threw in free liquor and wine. AHAHAHAHA! They don't know my friends! They will come to regret it!! We're getting married May 6, 2007. The main difficulty now is co-ordinating bridesmaids - one will be returning to China in December, one is moving to Ottawa in August and one is potentially going to Vancouver for film school. Ah well, hooray internet.

- We forgot our 5-year anniversary. What's even more sad, Katie didn't and in fact called to wish us a happy anniversary, but I was already asleep.

- My most recent SLP group (management trainees) got me a bunch of flowers and a thank-you card for ordering them lunches and everything for the past month. I was so touched I was almost crying - "You guuuuuyyyys! You suuuuck! I'm going to have to take these on the buuuus!" Funnily enough, there was only one signature I was looking for on the card - Mickey's, the trainer. An old-school Southern gentleman, straight from South Carolina. Used to play in the minor leagues, I think for Detroit. Whenever I can, if I'm ordering from our caterer's, I always get a cheese tray, because I know he'll just plonk himself down behind it and eat nothing but cheese. My kinda guy, pity he's 70. He'd be an awesome grandfather, not that I'd ever tell him that. He's not coming back until September, a day before his birthday, but if I'm still at Work then I'm giving him a cheese for his birthday. Was thinking of trying to make my own cheese, just to try, except it takes 3-6 months to make a cheddar and I really don't have that kind of attention span.

- Rick's father called. Since then, they've met up and hung out and apparently had a grand old time. It was nice to see.

- Guy The Pizzle (H&S guy) quit. Did I mention about the First Aid training? When he asked the instructor if (as he'd heard once) you could stick a vacuum hose down the throat of a choking victim to get the foreign object out? And that, if you had a pregnant choking lady, you could hang her upside-down by her ankles and massage the back of her legs to get her to stop choking? Once Management heard about this... well, let's just say no one was begging him to stay.

- Rick is getting Muscly. From doing lots of weight-lifting. The good thing about having 0% body fat is that you do one push-up and it shows. Still, I did sit-ups and resistance-training with him tonight, and I feel better for it. This is being good motivation for me to Healthy-Up.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?