Sunday, May. 06, 2007 - 11:31 AM

Reflections of the bride on her wedding day

My mom came downstairs this morning and said I was the calmest bride she'd ever seen. Ehn.

It's just another day, with different costumes on. Of course, I saw that now - just wait until I'm freaking out at the hairstylist.

Sitting at home, listening to my old playlist (currently, Nancy White's "Leonard Cohen's Never Going To Bring My Groceries In".) Familiarity breeds comfort as well as contempt. Just depends on your circumstances.

Parents gave us $20,000 in GICs for a house. It's too big a number to deal with at the moment.

Somehow, I always thought I'd be flowing, poised and eloquent on my wedding day. I find instead that I'm blas�, slightly numb and not really thinking too hard about anything. Little details are annoying me, and my tongue keeps being tied. Also, I'm stalling - nervous about going to the salon without a definite plan in mind. (Le sigh.) Just want the hard bits to be over with; to my mind, the hard bits are 1. putting on the dress and seeing what I'll end up looking like on My Wedding Day; 2. getting there (even though it's 3.5 minutes away); 3. having everyone stare at me (I always go purple if I'm the only focus of attention); 4. getting the camera thign to go smoothly. Also 5. 7am flight to Vancouver on Tuesday. Fairly stressed about that too.

I wonder if work has modulated my stress response. I wonder if only certain types of stress stimulate me now. Because right now, I just feel droopy.

This is not turning into the reflections I meant it to....


Readin' "Small Gods" (Pratchett_ and "Sherlock Holmes Short Stories" (Conan Doyle)
Listenin' to "Rock DJ" (Robbie Williams)
Thinkin' about "me with the floorshow, kickin' with your torso..."

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?