Tuesday, Aug. 07, 2007 - 10:00 PM

Wow... quitting was weird. I had meant to quit as soon as I got my contract, but that turned out not to be until after 12pm... an hour after Bossman announced he was going to Montreal and ran out the door. So I called him in the afternoon. Convo went like this:

"I... need to... leave."
"Leave?"
"... leave... CQ."
"Ah."

But it certainly seemed like he was expecting it, even if, within 3 minutes of this conversation, I got 2 phone calls along the lines of "WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS???" from people he'd told. My hope is to get enough testaments, written notes and emails asserting to my personal brilliance that he will, in fact, realize that I WAS the whole dept. for a year, and vital to the organization at that. A bit like a Save The Whales campaign.

So I officially start as the HR Coordinator at Asset (CDI Corp.) on the 21st, which is good because I get to see Mickey before I leave, and Mickey's my favourite person (beside Peggy and Ron) in all of CQ. Still... I feel oddly limbo-like again... heading into the great unknown. THe new job seems great on paper, although I'm a bit worried about their personal organization skills. More money, better job title, better position, my own department, fewer employees to look after, and money to play with in the direction of training and workshops. The downside is they really have no formal HR experience or contact, and may not realize certain requirements, legalities, realities (i.e., that my HRPAO membership costs $350, and traditionally, the company pays for it...) Still, as Michelle says, we'll jump off that bridge when we come to it...


Readin' "Last Continent" (Pratchett), very vaguely. Dry.
Listenin' to "Sanctuary", Annette Ducharme - wish we'd played that at the wedding, too...
Thinkin' about "Who will give you sanctuary, and slay your vampires in the night, who will shelter you and be your guardian angel..."

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?