Sunday, Sept. 17, 2006 - 2:58 PM

*Serious guilt going on here.*
*Well, not that serious - I have good excuses.*

So... uhh.... well, it's been 3 months, folks, and I finally have 5 minutes together!

Karen quit last month, which means I've been doing 2 people's jobs and nearing the point of breakdown on a daily basis. I am highly excited when I actually get to leave at 5pm, and most days I come in at 7:30am anyway. I got offered the HR Rep job, accepted it, thought about it, and gave it back - in January, it's going to be 50% driving around Canada visiting stores who would much rather you were able to sell car parts than tell them what they're doing wrong while hiring people. For an extra $1,000 after taxes, it's so no worth it. I can get further where I want to go by reinforcing the skills I'm using now, because "driving around" doesn't look so good on the resume. But things are looking up - we're interviewing a new rep tomorrow, and she sounds perfect. I hope I hope I hope.

Wedding's moving along - got the bridesmaids' dress fabric, chosen my dress (love it!!), which Mum offered to pay for too (hooray!), etc. etc.

Mickey from the SLP group is back tomorrow too, starting a new session. Double-hooray! I'm glad he's back.

Nibs and Turdlet both had birthdays, which they didn't notice, Mum had a birthday which we celebrated at C'est Bon (new favourite Chinese restaurant), I passed my NKE with 82% and am now writing the second exam, the PPA, in October. In theory, there's no way I should be able to pass the PPA, since I don't have the 3-5 years' experience they say you should have before you write it. On the other hand, I don't have my head up my ass when it comes to HR, and since they're putting up the price next year anyway, I might as well fail once when it's cheap rather than once when it's expensive. If I pass it, I'll be a certified HR Professional, i.e. be worth more money.

We went on the company picnic to the Zoo yesterday, which was fun - especially fun as it only cost $5! Much less sucky than last time, we must have gone the boring way before. Wish we'd had a chance to go on the little tour bus though, but we were pretty pooped by the time we were through, and actually went to bed around 9:30pm. Ahhhh, gettin' old. Old but social - spent Friday night having fish & chips out with Jamie and Dave, pottering around, walking, getting walnut cakes, going back for tea and cake at Jamie's... my Lord, are we growing up? Or worse yet, becoming yuppies? My dad takes great pleasure in calling me a yuppie Dink - Young Urban Professional, Double Income, No Kids. I think he just likes it because it sounds perverse.

Just bought 2 Dar Williams cds on Amazon, and downloaded a bunch of songs from chooseyoursongs.com. Found some ginger 'pain d'epice' at Dominion, like Granny used to get for tea, in England. Made some hazelnut coffee. The weekends are my reward for hating life every other day of the week (ok, overly melodramatic. Just lately, life has been a riddle wrapped in an enigma. Wrapped in a cocksucka.)

Favourite quote of the month - "Do not fret if your job is harder than you would like. A razor cannot be sharpened on a piece of velvet."
(That one's stapled to my wall at work. Just to remind me.)


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?