Monday, Dec. 11, 2006 - 8:22 PM

Dear Santa,
for Christmas I wanna a pony anna puppy anna motorbike anna new laptop and TIME.

There is not enough time in my life. I need a 26-hour day, just to get my shit together. Looking forward to moving out to BC eventually - people who value their time more, and pay more attention to it. I want a goddamn break.

I got my CHRP designation, so am now officially Tha HR Shit. I also got accepted for the volunteer committee of the HRPAO Conference, which is Tha HR Conference Shit. Possibly even Shiz-nit, I'm not down with the hood and all anymore, y'unnerstand? For non-Canadians, having your CHRP in HR is like having your CMA if you're an accountant. Except having your CMA is more like saying "I'm Professional! I wear a suit and have a pocket calculator! I can do your taxes in my head!" Whereas having your CHRP ("Chirp", according to my daddy, who's been saying "Chirp! Chirp! Chirp!" every time I call for the past week. Hmm.) is more like saying "Look at me! I'm a fan of conspicuous consumption, and so is my company! They paid a grand for my exams and membership! They spend 1.5Gs to Represent at the Con! They have more money than sense! AND I had to pass 2 expensive exams in a row, which I could not have done without spending more money on study guides! I'm OFFICIAL!"

(This is not a rant.)

Steph, Karen's replacement, is quitting at the end of the week. She stayed 2 months, then got homesick and is going home. Understandable really, and she was pretty nice. We've got zero candidates again. Claude offered me the job again, but then said "Do you even want it?" And seeing what Steph did (albeit briefly...).... no, don't want it. STILL don't want it. But it's nice to be able to turn it down again.

Our wedding consultation was Saturday. White tablecloths, burgundy napkins (to match bridesmaids), 3-tier cake-of-my-dreams, 1 layer chocolate, 1 layer "white forest" (kiwi, peach and assorted fruit with white chocolate), and 1 layer strawberry, for (GET THIS) $175!!!!!!!! Also, our wedding rings came in - shiny titanium with a gold hand-carved inlay, and geeky-mushy inscription on the inside, no you can't know what. Have to get mine resized though, because WHILE I made sure it fit just fine, I forgot that the groom is, i.e. supposed to be able to slip it on my finger without a struggle, and my knuckles are big. So I can get it enlarged by 1/4 of a size (for free, they have to remake it if you want bigger), and otherwise we'll just have to depend on some surreptitious Vaseline.


5 Minutes Later....

Intrigued with C's idea of recapping the year thru the first sentence of every entry. Not terribly difficult, since I've made (damn) total of 9 entries in 2006. How much do I suck? Does THIS tell you what my job is like????????

Ahem.

Let's give it a whirl (and improvise when needed):

Jan 2006: I am in that strange, limbo-like state of being Unemployed, at least for another 18 hours. All kinds of angst going on - I haven't been The Rookie for almost 3 years, how does one work in an office of People Exclusively Older Than Me? (Still feelin' it...)

Feb 2006: Life's a whirlwind, but I have a few minutes:
1. I've been left alone most of this week, and large chunks of last week. This means I'm manning the office on my own. I can't believe how much my experience portfolio has grown in the last month - even silly little things like inter-office mailings, and fax machines. And complicated things like invoicing and expense sheets, and Oracle, and benefits and RRSPs. This time next year, I'll be able to get a job frickin' ANYWHERE.

March 2006: I had SO MUCH FUN TODAY! Jay wanted to go out for lunch for my birthday (tomorrow), and said she'd stop by around 12:45pm to visit the kitties. (That was my surprise birthday party! Hooray for my friends!! I can knit now!!)

April 2006: I haven't updated in soooo long. The kitties don't let me sleep past 8am (although Rick seems to manage to), so I'm up, drinking shitty instant coffee (I left my regular instant at work), reading Snowcrash again with an eye to annotations, since I'm lending it to my dad next, and worrying about all the things I'm not doing.

June 2006: Wow. I just keep saying it, but it's been AGES since I updated. Currently: painting my nails irridescent purple, listening to "Faster Kill Pussycat" (Oakenfold and Brittany Murphy; it grows on you.) Waiting for Rick to come to bed. Planning out my week. Thinking about how to apply to Filogix. Tickling Nibbley with my toes.

Sept 2006: *Serious guilt going on here.*
*Well, not that serious - I have good excuses.*
So... uhh.... well, it's been 3 months, folks, and I finally have 5 minutes together!
Karen quit last month, which means I've been doing 2 people's jobs and nearing the point of breakdown on a daily basis.

Aaaaannnd... that's it. That's all. So, from that, I'm manic and also spiralling downwards. Time to find a new job.

G'night.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?