Monday, Jun. 16, 2008 - 10:01 PM

So, parents leave for BC in 2 weeks. The most significant thing my therapist hasn't said is that I have a right to be angry. Or rather, that my feeling angry is natural, expectable, justified and socially acceptable.

I think I'm pretty much through the anger part though - I researched Kubler-Ross' stages of dying, figuring it was pretty much the same thing. Denial. Bargaining. Anger. Depression. Acceptance. I'm somewhere between Depression and Acceptance, stopping in for a tea-and-crumpets with Denial every so often. It's ok to revert. I'm cool with that.

So what's the big deal? 2 fronts: 1) My parents are packing up and abandoning me as they retire to Victoria, mostly for the sake of the weather. That's the driving force: weather. As my mom put it, "As close to English weather as you can get, without having to live in England." Weather. I'm upstaged, rejected and forgotten in exchange for an average winter temperature of 5 degrees C. 2) I have severe enmeshment issues, which is apparently similar to separation anxiety. This means that I don't feel I can survive without my parents. The thought of my mom dying (all omnipotent powers forbid) I have had time to get used to since I was 12 (when I found out she'd been lying about her age for over a decade, by over a decade...), but the thought of my dad dying, the very thought, is enough to send me into a tearful panic attack. Other people move far away from their parents without any worries - my own parents did when they emigrated from England (of course, that brings into play my Theory of anti-Copernican relational physics with regards to my granny), BUT, dear heart... they're not me. In fact, that's part and parcel of the problem - if I'd had a sibling, I wouldn't be as co-dependent as I am now. POINT BEING, while I may not be "friends" with my mother... I can't imagine either of them not playing an intimate role in my daily life.

This is why I need my therapist to give me permission to be angry.

I guess we'll see who cracks first.


Readin' Shelf Monkey (Redekop)
Listenin' to Penny fluttering around her cage and yelling to be released
Thinkin' about shower, bed, laundry. In that order.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?