Monday, Mar. 11, 2002 - 9:45 AM

I thought that, like this guy ("komrad" in the U.S. army???? ye gods what has McCarthyism come to?), it might be a good idea, after 540 entries, to put up a "who's who" page. I'll do this by stage appearance:

Family:

Mum (go to "tweetie3.gif", Geocities doesn't want me to share =p): My mother's insane. Any of my friends will tell you my mother's insane. Especially Michelle, since Mum decided Michelle's really Jewish (a Coptic Catholic Egyptian Jew, all the same...) My Mum's English and 61 and this is really important about her- it contributes a lot to her world view, and to her theory that if she doesn't tell people how old she is, they'll never guess. Strangely, it often works. If you've never met my mother, best thing would be to go watch the Britcome "Keeping Up Appearances," starring Patricia Routledge, because my mom's EXACTLY like that. Or you could go watch an Estroven commercial, the one with the English teacher, cuz that's her.
Daddy: is a sort of anti-Mum. Quiet, very Libra. You know how, in every parental relationship with kids, there's a parent who's the "Good Cop" and one who's the "Bad Cop"? Daddy's the good cop. Has a fascination with Building The Better Mousetrap, except that it's The Better Squirrel-Proof Bird-Feeder. Sometimes gets upset when he can't hear people cuz he's losing his hearing. Also English. A very cute person.

Granny&Da: 1 unit, my grandparents on Daddy's side. Granny's short and squat and very much like Nanny Ogg in Pratchett, lives for her family who, sadly, tend to find her rather abrasive. Calls me "ducky" and yanks on my hair when she wants to talk when I'm talking. Da, on the other hand, is very much like Daddy, except about half a foot taller. Bearded, absent-minded, artistic and getting stubborner by the day, when it comes to dealing with Granny. Miss him very much.
Fake-Family: Margaret, Ron, Lisa & the kids. Margaret & Ron are my fake-grandparents. I found them when Lisa, Margaret's daughter, posted an ad on Geneology.com or something saying "If anyone knows any friends or family of Marie Tempest, I'd like to get in touch, because I'm related to her." For those Not In The Know, Marie Tempest was a) an English turn-of-the-century actress, b) a real bitch, and c) my great great grandmother (Granny's grandmother.) So I wrote back and we all met up. They live in London, Ont, and they're really sweet people.

Friends:

Chriss: best friend for years and years. Goes to Queen's, in Kingston, i.e. 3 hours away from Toronto. This doesn't work out to much hanging-out time, but at least she's on co-op here next year. As Mrs. Bertram said, one of the very few people who could have gone into either arts or sciences and have been perfectly happy. Baker extraordinaire, sometimes-curler, Nina-worshipper (like moi), anime guru. But that has nothing to do with who she is. The problem is that she's as multi-faceted as the Hope Diamond, and just as hard to describe. Something like an intelligent Sailor Moon on acid, and then again... nothing like that at all. Something like Amelie... something like Princess Fiona... something like Lucy Liu. But most definitely unique and unlike anyone you've ever met before. Does that help?
Michelle: good friend here in T.O. Goes to U of T with me. Also known for years, although we weren't really friends in highschool- I didn't think about her much beyond the fact that her hair always looked frizzy and inflamable. Has changed a LOT since then, and is hilarious. Simpsons fan. Looks something like Nelly Furtado, something like Jessica Alba, something like J. Lo, but Egyptian. Mediterranian, anyway. I know I spelled that wrong. My partner in crime for the past 2 years- every scary or really funny thing that's happened to me in that time-span has mostly involved (or is due to) her. Has a thing for really short guys.

Rick: I wasn't really sure if I should cound Rick as a friend, or in a category all his own (i.e. Mah Man), but he's one of my best friends TOO, so into "friends" he goes. Graphics artist with talent (look for him at SciFi Meshes under "Instructors" as Hobbes.) We've been together since May 9th, 2001. He moved down from Barrie soon after that and has been living in nearly-Scarberia, about an hour's subway/bus from my house, a 20-min drive tho. I don't get to see him much, despite the fact that he works 10 mins from my school, but maybe we'll hang out after work/class when it gets warmer. He's the precious constant in my life, my knight in shining armour: pretty understanding, puts up with my PMS, is a fantastic cuddler (amongst other things.) We started talking cuz he happened to talk to me on my birthday, the day after Tweetie died, and I poured my guts out to him for hours. He's been just the same ever since, a solid, reliable pillar. I love him immeasurably and the weekends I get to see him are never long enough.


That's just about all I have time for now... people I don't tend to get on with are usually my exes, my friends' exes and my mother, tho we're close. But I don't have time for people I don't like, so they're not taking up any more page space! SO THERE! :)

Oh, right, hm.

Me: Short. Strange. Unphotogenic. You've probably at least got a vague idea in mind, as you have (haven't you?) been reading this. Ehn... I'm alright. Possible PMDD (yes it DOES exist), we'll find out tomorrow. Slight thyroid imbalances during childhood left me slightly depressive, slightly borderline. But eh :) It's all good, I'm a pretty cheerful person on the whole. After all, surrounded by everyone I know, who wouldn't be? :)


April 11, 2002

I've decided to add this survey-thingy, cuz hey, I'm stalling on essays, eh?


a)HEIGHT: 5"

b)WEIGHT: 173lbs at the moment, tho it could be 3lbs less tomorrow

c)WAIST : 32"

1] NAME: Kerry

2] AGE: 21

3] SEX: Fem.

4] SEXUALITY: I like boys. I might like girls, conceivably, but I definitely like boys.

5] NATIONALITY: Canadian, English & Irish passports

6] CAREER: something having to do with semiotics- advertising, marketing, teaching...

7] FAMILY: Parents. All cousins and stuff are in England.

8] A FEW AUTHORS:
Terry Pratchett! (everything)
J.-P. Sartre (everything)
Doestoevsky (esp. C&P)
John Wyndham (triffids, kraken, chrysalids)
J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter, yes...)
Kafka (Penal Colony & other stories)
Julian Barnes ("history of the world in 10.5 chapters", and gonna start "England, England" soon)

9] HOW DO YOU EXPRESS YOURSELF:
I fart.
Through my diary.
With my photography.
With my writing (poetry, stories)
With my middle finger.

10] A FEW FILMS:
Everything Kevin Smith
Das Boot
Amelie
Orphee
Life of Brian (Monty Python)
Scent of a Woman
Shrek
Ace Ventura
Bridget Jones

11] IDEA OF PERFECT HAPPINESS:
A can of chili, a big chocolate cheesecake and Thou... (If you don't get it then you're probably illiterate. It's Edward Fitzgerald.)

12] MOST ANNOYING HABIT:
Besides the farting? Repeating myself, probably. And going temporarily insane once a month.

13] TELEVISION:
Simpsons, Chef!, Star Trek (TNG), Whose Line Is It Anyway? That 70s Show (I don't get to watch much TV)

14] IS SEX IMPORTANT TO YOU?
Yes. Not going into that further in case I get cut off.

15] FAVOURITE TWO FEATURES OF THE BODY:
My left eyebrow (which always obeys me) and my lips (which get me dates)

16] THE MOST INTERESTING PART OF THE HUMAN BODY:
Depends on whose body. In general- eyes. They fascinate me.

17] THE COLOUR OF YOUR EYES AND HAIR:
eyes are bluey-grey (depending on what I'm wearing, mood be damned.) Unless I've been crying or coughing, in which case they're aquamarine (like, REALLY!) Hair is... uh... blonde, reddish, black, brownish. I like to mix and match. Think I'm gonna cut it off this summer tho, so I'm not redyeing the black bits.

18] MOST HATED TWO FEATURES OF THE BODY: my stomach and my legs.

19] MOST COMPLIMENTED PARTS OF THE BODY BY THE OPPOSITE SEX: eyes and lips.

20] FAVOURITE SPORT: I guess karate. Or rugby. I don't really do either anymore.

21] NAME SIX GIFTS YOU HAVE:
Um... good at languages... usually good listener... good at erotic massage... (well, I'm running out of ideas here!)... strong... can get the hang of most things (sports, music) if I try it once... can't think of anything else...

22] NAME YOUR WORST SUBJECT AT SCHOOL: Math.

23] DO YOU WRITE IN BLACK OR BLUE INK:
Pencil, actually. I don't like writing in ink. It ties things down to the page that I might not like. Ah, the computer age...

24] FAVOURITE COLOUR: black, dark green

25] FOREIGN LANGUAGES:
French, German, Spanish, Irish and Latin. Can count in Japanese.

26] ACTIVE OR PASSIVE:
Depends on when. In class, active unless it's boring. In love... depends how fast it's moving along, and if it's going where I want it to. In life... a bit of both.

27] MASCULINE OR FEMININE:
Hm. Yang, sort of. I'm not very good at being girly, but some people bring it out in me...

28] MOST ATTRACTIVE THING ABOUT A PERSON:
Eyes and confidence. Confident eyes.

29] FAVOURITE DESIGNER:
HAH! Like I give a shit about that stuff. Someone who designs clothes that fit me.

30] DO YOU HOLD A SECRET: Not really. Very open-book.

31] DO YOU LIKE PHOTOS BEING TAKEN:
They don't usually turn out very well... I'm not at all photogenic, and I always have red eyes...

32] WHO'S IN CHARGE OF YOUR DESTINY:
I don't know. Am I supposed to? My parents were, at one point. I suppose I am. My friends are. Rick is. The Man is. Whoever wants to give me money is. I'm not different from any one of you.

33] CATHOLIC OR PROTESTANT:
HAH and DOUBLE-HAH! I was Catholic, left the Church when I realised they were a bunch of hypocrites (the Church as a whole, not necessarily the people.) I don't believe in believing something if you can't back it up with an argument (not necessarily proof, just an argument.) Why the hell should gay sex be condemned? Should a couple stop having sex if they can't have kids? Because that would be "unnatural" too... Gah. I believe in deism and Hick's Irenean Theodicy.

34] A FEW COUNTRIES (that I have been to):
US (bleh)
England (ra for family!)
France (just about everywhere, ESPECIALLY the Riviera!)
Italy (all up and down it, still haven't been to Venice yet tho)
Ireland (remember it being very green and very rainy)
Monaco (very beautiful)

35] OPINION OF HOMELAND:
Ehn, it's just Canada, eh? Wish we weren't so American tho... Although I think Chretien's resisting well :)

36] OPINION OF POLITICS: They can kiss my shiny metal ass.

37] DAY OR NIGHT: They both offer good things. Today is beautiful, Tonight is inspiring. Cheesy but true.

38] A FEW ARTISTS:
Dali
Frank Lloyd Wright
Henry Moore
Rick

39] ORGANISED OR DISORGANISED: Disorganized. Soooo disorganized...

40] FIRST KISS:
Well, 2, but really 16. 2nd boyfriend (first bf was via internet), Alex. Wasn't expecting it, nearly fell over (was on rollerblades.) Ran away as fast as I could. In retrospect, I probably didn't handle that very well.

41] CURRENT FASCINATIONS:
Sleep. I miss it so much (exam and essay time.) Redesigning my diary. Catching up on all the reading school hasn't let me do ("Star Wreck" Series, "England, England", all the Pratchetts I downloaded...)

42] DESIRE TO ACQUIRE:
A laptop, a Dali, a ring with a shiny rock on it (hey, I'm being honest!), a nice body, a tattoo, a navel ring (again- gonna get that repierced in the summer), a university degree, a nice job, and an apartment of my OWN! And some cats.


The end.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?