Monday, Feb. 24, 2003 - 9:02 PM

Only a couple of weeks ago, I realized that the door through which I enter UC and the humdrumness of college life every Monday morning is, in fact, The Door.

Ever since 2nd year, when my "Science and Pseudoscience" told us about the Legend of the Ghost of UC (one of the many, nothing like University College for being haunted on campus) to 'fill a miscalculated hour,' I've been searching for this damn door. Like all good legends, the story's rather vague and farfetched, but as spiced with sex, vengeance and violence as a highschool cheerleading tryout. It seems that the architect/designers/builders/whatever of UC, two men named Reznikoff and Diabolo, were in the process of construction when Reznikoff found that Diabolo was mackin' with his woman. In revenge, Reznikoff made a gargoyle with Diabolo's face and stuck it somewhere in UC (haven't tracked that one down yet- maybe it was destroyed?) Diabolo found out and, in a fit of rage, chased Reznikoff all over the building with an axe. The big chunks missing from the small East Door are the remaining evidence- apparently Diabolo threw the axe at the door as Reznikoff was escaping. The story goes that Diabolo caught and killed him, and hid the body under the building. There was a big fire in UC at some later point, and rumours that they'd found the remains of a skeleton. But that's rumour for you.

And now, after 2 years.... I finally found The Door. I've used it for years and never realized. Which just goes to show what can happen when you actually see what's in front of you, I guess. Still. I felt good that I finally found it- as if I was leaving the University knowing at least a few of its secrets....

(As a side note- UC's student lounge/cafe is named "Diabolo's." No one wants to side with the loser.)


11:15pm


Readin' nothing really
Listenin' to the washing machine
Thinkin' about not much

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?