Friday, Nov. 21, 2003 - 4:21 PM

Sometimes, I know how she feels.

The ones I don't get are the customers who come up while you're doing something inherently staff-like, like restocking boomboxes or dusting computer stations, and who sort of hesitantly peer at you and go "Um, do you work here?"

And you know that no matter what you say, a) you can't possibly salvage their dignity, and b) you have absolutely no desire to do so. You look at your royal blue shirt. You look, first left at the yellow "Best Buy" logo, machiavellianly (but discreetly) placed directly over your heart, then right at your yellow name-tag which says [INSERT NAME HERE] Team Member since 2003. You sweeping glance takes in your khaki pants and black (or brown) shoes without stopping, to come to rest on the stack of DVDs on the cart in front of you, or the dust cloth in your hand and the Windex on your belt, or the 50lb., 4' stereo you're trying to manoeuvre into a 3'10" gap. And then you look up at the customer, and wonder exactly what you can say that would prevent them from looking dumb. And you give up.

"Um, yes?"

But mark my words. On my last day (and it may well be my last day because I do this), I am going to look that cow-eyed, dim-witted darwinian reject squarely in the eye and say "No! Me work in a dump like this?! Are you insane? Do I look like a sales person?" And walk off.

P.S. decided against getting a Gameboy for the time being (sort of a waste of money.) But getting a new helmet tonight, cuz I always need to buy myself something on payday. And "Midwich Cuckoos" was only $3 at the second-hand bookstore.

P.P.S. hypnosis is paid off! :) $800! Hooray!


9:48pm

Blah. Work sucks. I am SO quitting before Xmas.

I hope.


Readin' "Midwich Cuckoos" (Wyndham) and "Pyramids" (Pratchett)
Listenin' to CBC radio
Thinkin' about books! Glorious books!

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?