Saturday, Dec. 27, 2003 - 1:12 PM

Well, Xmas flurry is over, and I'm exhausted. Boxing Day at BB wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, so score one for the team, but I'm still tired. First time I've worked during Xmas break, and it's taking its toll. Still, yesterday's time-and-a-half will make up for me being sick a couple of weeks ago.

My wonderful new stereo is my pride and joy. I got lots of cool stuff for Xmas (ALL the cool John Wyndham books, a Pratchett, and most of Robert Sawyer; a fancy-schmancy SAVO picture-frame-screen-thing, which I am NOT going to have enough good pics to fill; a horrible new monkey from Daddy who's bright yellow and hangs ona little plastic hook and swings and screams when you press his foot ["Pendulum Fred"]; odds and ends and gift certificates and dollar-store things [a little stuffed robin that tweets which Bird loves] and makeup and magazines and SOCKS!), but the stereo.... ahhhh. It can shuffle between tracks on 5 discs, play MP3s, has an optical output so I can hook it up to the TV, timer, remote.... lots of good stuff. It's amazing how much music contributes to your life and changes your mood.

The downside of all this holiday goodness is that I haven't been able to spend much time with R [my fiance... I'm only just getting used to the word.] Xmas Eve was the first time we'd seen each other since Sunday, and we haven't had any alone-time since. But I'm going over tonight, and we're gonna play Scrabble (cuz we got it now!) I've been having probs adjusting to this change- not so much for what it engenders for us, because I think we both accepted that ages ago, but because everyone else seems to be freaking out. Godbrother David in particular had a rough time of it- he's only a year older than me, and I didn't realize he still saw me as "his little godsister." I don't like all this kerffuffle and freaking out and stuff... it's just me, not some great big thing. And all these "congratulations!" seem misplaced and unnecessary, since a) it's not like there was a big huge paradigm shift between |Not Going To Get Married| and |Going To Get Married|; and b) it's not going to be for a couple of years at least. Anyway. This is about as much as I can take right now. In January, I'm going to take a week off and relax, and I'm going to spend a couple of weeks living at R's, to get some damn quality time with him. I've had enough of this "once a week" bullshit. I wish he's ended up living in Leaside.


Readin' "Night Watch" (Pratchett) and "The Kraken Wakes" (Wyndham) and "Hominids" (Sawyer)
Listenin' to some doo-wop stuff my Dad got for Xmas, which is playing on my sound system :)
Thinkin' about lunch and work and the books I'm currently not being slaved to.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?