Monday, Feb. 11, 2002 - 9:33 AM

High pressure day today: clear blue sky, freezing cold, and linguistics midterm I haven't studied for. Ehn, I'll do it in half an hour, I've got all day.

Surprisingly, the weekend was really fun. I'll have to explain that: last night was Rick's staff dinner. I hate Carol (manager), so I was dreading the party with a passion. Saturday was spent procrastinating about studying, and Saturday night was spent with Rick- much fun. We had spaghetti and chili, watched "Goldfinger" (arghghgh, young Sean Connery...), and just generally mucking about and having fun. Sunday morning was procrastinating about getting up (and more fun), getting up, and heading out shopping to look for a shirt for me for the dinner. Anyone who's ever been power-shopping with me will tell you I'm a beast, and I was yesterday, too. The shirt at Mexx that I wanted was $80. $80!!!! I mean, I could have got it, but I have a moral problem paying $80 for a single shirt. So we hit Le Chateau, Suzy Shier's, Eaton's, bunch of places. Nada. Or nada good enough, anyway. Finally gave up, in really bad mood and on the verge of tears, but Rick hugged it all better. So forgiving. :X! Went home, put on makeup, mooched around in Eglinton Center for a while, went to Mandarin- no one else was dressed up either, Carol didn't show (awww...) and Diva didn't show (Rick's co-worker HE was dreading cuz he's a prick.) So we were both very happy, Rick ate 20 chicken balls and a lot of rice (but no Corona cuz they CARDED HIM and he didn't bring his ID! AHAHAHAHA! Sorry sweetie. =X!), I had various things that all had sugar in (pork ribs, caesar salad, etc.), AND bread, AND 2 servings of creme caramel, which I love, AND two tiny 1"sq. cheesecakes and a 1"sq. apple strudel (all sugar-free, granted), AND a tiny brownie, AND mini-M&Ms, AND a mini chocolate eclair, AND a ton of melon, and I only gained 2 lbs this morning (was expecting much much more.) It'll be gone by tomorrow. Man was that bread ever good. I was still good tho, I could have been much much worse. I didn't have any ice cream, or croissants, or white bread, or trifle, or all the other things Mandarin has, but I was extremely satisfied by what I did have. Now I can go back to sugar-free with no probs, and know that I can indulge again at Easter (arghghgh, Cadbury's Creme Eggs....) Mum said she'll make a triple chocolate pudding-cake thing for me when I reach 150lbs. I give it 2 months. Maybe 3. :))))

So, basically, except for this test, life is beautiful, it's a bowl of cherries, peachy, rosy, sweet and beautiful.

I'm in love (ooooooooohhhh!)
I'm a believer
I couldn't leave her
If I tried!


This is the actual radio conversation of a US naval ship with Canadian authorities off the coast of Newfoundland in October 1995. Radio conversation released by the Chief of Naval Operations, 10-10-95:

CANADIANS: Please divert your course 15 degrees to the south to avoid a collision.

AMERICANS: Recommend you divert your course 15 degrees to the north to avoid a collision.

CANADIANS: Negative. You will have to divert your course 15 degrees to the south to avoid a collision.

AMERICANS: This is the captain of a US Navy ship. I say again, divert YOUR course.

CANADIANS: No, I say again, you divert YOUR course.

AMERICANS: This is the Aircraft Carrier USS ABRAHAM LINCOLN, the second largest ship in the United States Atlantic Fleet. We are accompanied by three Destroyers, three Cruisers and numerous support vessels. I DEMAND that you change your course 15 degrees north. I say again, that's one-five degrees north, or counter-measures will be undertaken to ensure the safety of this ship.

CANADIANS: This is a lighthouse. Your call.


LOVE Daddy's forwards.

Still studying for linguistics, only now not so much. Haven't seen Michelle in ages. Rick wrote me an email on his lunch break, which was unexpected, but definitely appreciated. I can't wait to go home.


"Shrek" isn't on your top 5??? Tell me more about your mom's curling thing, if you need more people I know Mum would love to go, she's all excited about Wednesday morning.


Urbancic is cancelling class Friday, so Reading Week starts thursday :) YAY! That means I can go to Rick's for friday night. >;) yay!


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?