Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2004 - 11:14 AM

Well, thank God THAT'S over. All of it. Christmas without Daddy was kind of quiet and weird, with R and I trying to distract Mum so she wouldn't "dwell" (in the same kind of way that wounds "fester"); she was running up and down to the phone every 5 minutes on Christmas day, trying to call Daddy, eventually getting through at 6pm when he realized the phone was off the hook. And Boxing Day was complete murder - ALL YOU FUCKWITS WHO SHOP AT 7AM ON BOXING DAY: I HATE YOU ALL AND YOU ARE ALL VERY VERY SMELLY!!!! Holy shit I'm not joking. Azam's girlfriend Sharmeen said once on her birthday she and her friend bought a bunch of deodorants and went around on the subway handing them out to smelly people. I think that's great.

We unwrapped a few presents, with Mum and I having a lot of fun with DDR - she's really cute, hopping around going "what's next, what's next??" I think it perked her up a bit. She's just taken off for Buffalo to (finally!) pick up Daddy (flying to Buffalo is apparently $150 cheaper than flying to Toronto), and they're staying over and coming back tomorrow night. We're having proper Christmas on New Year's day.

Yesterday was awesome. I checked my marks right before I left for work - for some blowful, elementary-school-style-seeking reason, Seneca gives out letter grades, not number grades. But still: straight As in Law, Biz, Compensation and Management, and A+s in Occupational Health & Safety (Daddy will be happy - he ordered me to get that; now he'll be able to boast about it at work) and Human Resource Information Systems. ;) STRAIGHT As!!! I never did this well in highschool or university. Mum was so happy she went out to Laura Secord and bought me some truffles. So my day started really well, right? Then I went to work, sort of pottering along realizing that yes, sometimes I like customers, they're challenging and sometimes quite good to have contact with. I hooked this nice lady up with a fax/phone system, and she was impressed that I knew so much about phones and stuff. She said "I'm just starting up a small business, I should get you to work for me!" and I said, in a "ha-ha-ha-I'm-joking-or-am-I?" kinda of way, "Well, tell me what kind of business and we'll talk!" She said she was starting up a food business, and that she was one of the founders of the Big Carrot! (Note for non-Torontonians: it's a big, popular health-food store with lots of esoteric herbs and carb-free bread and such for unhealthy vegetarians; my mother loves it.) I mentioned that I was working on an HR post-grad program and my business project had been a start-up organic food business (later remembered we changed at the last minute to an OHS HR company, but oh well.) So after we were done all her shopping, she got my name and number and said she call. I'm sure she won't, but what a boost, eh? My program's already paid off! :)

Heh. I'm just chuffed right now, don't mind me. I'm going to go have an A+ truffle :))


Readin' Pyramids, some Xmas books.
Listenin' to the fountain
Thinkin' about my treatise on modern religion which I'm writing for fun :)

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?