Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005 - 4:24 PM

I made the best fucking curry in the world yesterday. Seriously. As we all know, I Don't Cook, but the last month has been a smorgasbord of culinary discovery. Last week I made French Toast, this week I made curry. I admit, the french toast blew goats, because the receipe we pulled off the internet said to soak the bread for 20 seconds per side, but wasn't figuring on us using Wonderbread. So the inside was 100% liquid. But after Rick went off to play on his computer, I was allowed to deviate from the Written Word, and made some passable FT.


Getting back to the curry - I've had some pork in the freezer for a couple of weeks, with a vague idea I could use it to make curry. Have never made curry before, but since grew up with Daddy adding curry powder to pretty much anything he thought wasn't colourful enough, figured it couldn't be too hard. I bought curry powder at the dollar store the first week we were here, and have never touched it. So we went grocery shopping last night, and picked up this awesome instant rice pilaf-in-a-can for $1.50, takes 5 minutes to make and serves 5. Also, frozen peas and beans/carrots bag, tinned mushrooms, and tinned artichoke hearts. Nuked everything with curry and garlic butter, started cooking rice on stovetop and eventually mixed everything in. AND it was HEALTHY - 2 cups of peas! And it tastes freaking GOOD! Next time I need to add more meat, maybe chicken or beef, and also some garlic cloves instead of just garlic butter, and I'm calling it Lonely Curry, because after you've eaten it you don't have any friends left. :)


Rick went out on Tuesday and bought my replacement laptop power adaptor, because mine had gone wonky. So now I have a laptop again, and I really AM thinking about writing a novel!


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?