Monday, Dec. 05, 2005 - 11:17 AM

100 Secrets I Wasn't Keeping: 1-10

1. My personal peeve, in terms of cleanliness, is hairs in the sink, bathtub or anywhere else they shouldn't be. I'm ok with cat hair (which is fortunate, considering), but I can't tolerate human hair. It makes me want to throw up.

2. Whenever I make orange juice (from frozen), I sing Sloan's "Coax Me" ("I drink concentrated orangeade / I think the solid bit is ok / It's not the band I hate, it's their fans / Three cans of water perverts me / coax me, cajole me...")

3. I don't: catch bugs, clean up hairballs, call for taxis or food delivery. Or apparently catch mice. MEN do that.

4. I had a fear of dwarves, because of the movie 'Willow', which only disappeared when I got to know Winfield at work, who is 4'4 and fucking awesome.

5. When I was 5, I tripped on a towel, fell on a glass shelf and slashed my wrist open. My parents thought I'd bleed to death on the way to the hospital. I refused stitches because my best friend Lauren had just got some in her chin (the first of many times she fell on the concrete parking blocks at school) and I didn't want blue string sticking out of my skin. So the hospital doctor just cut the spare skin off with a pair of nail scissors and bandaged me up. Ever since then, whenever I pick up a pair of nail scissors, I associate them with surgery. Also, I feel naked without a watch on that wrist, because NO-ONE ever believes it isn't a suicide scar.

6. I knew within 2 weeks that Rick was The One. It wasn't a big Disney revelation. My main thought was "Oh. Now I can stop looking."

7. I'm attracted to Sexy Old Men, like William Petersen (Grissom from CSI), Chris Noth (Mr. Big), and sometimes Harrison Ford. I hope Rick goes grey at the temples soon, because that is SO elegant. He's already got an eyebrow that's half-grey, which he alternately either blames on me or denies entirely.

8. It cracks me up that Nibbley will walk onto my terry-cloth dressing gown, or the micro-fibre blanket my parents lent us for Jay, and treadle it with her front paws. I can't NOT laugh. Then I call her Stampy.

9. I reread books almost compulsively. If I enjoyed it, I reread it straight away (most Pratchett.) If I'm not sure and/or had to think about it, I wait a few months to a year (most Sawyer, Gibson, Stephenson.) If I was impressed but didn't enjoy it, I wait several years to a decade ("1984".) I reread John Wyndham books ("The Trouble With Lichen," "Day of the Triffids" and "The Kraken Wakes") and Skinner's "Walden II" at least twice a year - they're my "feel better" books.

10. Most people think I'm 5-8 years younger than I really am. Then, when I tell them how old I am (24), they tell me I'll be glad to look young when I'm 40. Yeah, because who doesn't enjoy looking like 16 in middle-age? I have been turned down for jobs because I look too young, so frankly, I'd rather have a few lines and be better-employed.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?