2000-02-20 - 20:17:28

you know, my favourite Dar Williams song is "The Poignant, Yet Pointless, Crisis of a Co-ed." Especially the last line.


THE POINTLESS YET POIGNANT CRISIS OF A COED

I'm not a leader,

I'm not a left-wing, rhetoric mobilizing force of one

But there was a time way back many years ago, in college, don't laugh

But I thought I was a radical

I ran the Hemp Liberation League with my boyfriend

It was true love, with a common cause

And besides that, he was a Sagittarius

We used to say that our love was like hemp rope

Three times as strong as the rope that you buy

domestically

And we would bond in the face of oppression from big business and

the deans

But I knew there was a problem, every time the group would meet

Everyone would light up

That made it difficult to discuss glaucoma, human rights

Not to mention chemotherapy

Well sometimes, life gives us lessons

sent in ridiculous packaging

And so I found him in the arms of a Student Against the Treacherous Use of Fur

And he gave no apology

He just turned to me, stoned out to the edge of oblivion

He didn't pull up the sheets, and I think he even smiled

as he said to me:

(Spoken)"Well, I guess our dreams went up in smoke - heh, heh"

And I said "No, our dreams went up . . in dreams . . . You stupid pothead."

And another thing,

What kind of a name is Students Against the Treacherous Use of Fur?

Fur is already dead,

And besides a name like that doesn't make a good

acronym

I am older now

I know the rising gradual fall of a daily victory

And I still write to my senators saying they should legalize cannabis and I should know,

'cause I am a horticulturist

I have a husband and two children out in Lexington, Mass.

And my ex-boyfriend can't tell me I've sold out

Because he's in a cult.

And he's not allowed to talk to me.

copyright Dar etc etc etc.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?