2001-07-08 - 7:16 p.m.

Spent most of the day cleaning my room for the Becketts (my dad's sister and her husband and son), who are apparently being moved into my room for their month-long stay, while i am unceremoniously being moved out. wasn't thrilled at the announcement that my computer, my desk, my bookshelves and my bed were to be moved out so they could "feel more at home" for the 2 or 3 day-stretches they will be spending here. Of course i don't mind them having my room, i just don't think it was necessary to completely remove all traces of my existence from it.

Well... not quite all. The chimney wall is now half-covered with all sorts of photos i found in the box i haven't even attempted to unpack from res (now a full year ago!)- photos from formal (yay grads 99!), graduation, canada day at michelle's in '99, pics of English family, some surrealist art, a pic of me with April (Jamie's long-haired dachshund, the cutest dog on the face of the earth, or at least tied with Otis), and a couple of pics of Tweetie. A "thank you" card from Alan from after "Hero", saying some really sweet things that made me cry. A couple of cartoons I've had since grade 7. My cat-mirror. I've taken down all the new year's pics from 2000, except the ones with Twee in (and there are a lot.) Made space for the 2 dragon posters Da drew me, one on paper, one on wall-covering (like rubber wall-paper), which he did me last summer. Also found a questionably bronze dragon, about 8 inches long, that used to me welded onto something and is now stuck to the top of my monitor with stick-tack. I'll take a pic when i get new batteries for the cam.

In The Unpacking, I also found my other glove, my other khaki sock, my other blue slipper, the roses Pearl made me, the henna Shubha lent me in frosh which mike ate ("Did you just eat that?" "No...." "Mike that's skin dye" "OH MY GOD I'VE BEEN POISONED!!!!" "I can't believe you ate an unlabelled green powder..."), my 80s "step by step: cooking made easy!" cook-book which has always been completely and utterly useless EXCEPT for the awesome pancake receipe in it, my Rogers membership card, which is good cuz now we can get out DVDs from the Rogers on Vic Park and Ellesmere next to the laundromat; found all kinds of club-pass-y things, which Matt's gonna get donated at him. Found my discman, too, and my old copy of "the human zoo" and a couple other books.

I threw out all the roses Mike gave me. Soul-spring cleaning.

unfortunately, dreadful pack-rat that i am, i can't throw out the Dr. Pepper that's still half-full from the first time Rick came over here, 2 months ago. It hasn't grown life yet, been checking.

Found the "Desiderata", which Daddy's always had a very strong respect for, and has given me copies of since I was old enough to wear a bra. Gonna stick it up where the old New Year's pics were, over my bed, along with the photocopy of the short story Daddy placed 28th with in the Star Short Story competition, i think it was when I was in grade 7.

Hung all my clothes up.

Found... the little blue book. The one we made? Remember? I had it in res with me, and had forgotten it was in that box. It's still undamaged. :) That was a fun time...

Several copies of "Caffeine-induced hallucinations." The French poem was good, had a couple of spelling mistakes tho. The english poem was teen-angsty and could have been improved, so I will. Chriss and I spent half an hour coming up with the title ("I Hate You, I Despise You, And If The Pen Is Mightier Than The Sword Then I Hope You Get Impaled On A Parker".) Our level 4s studied us, eh? Weird-o.

Saw "10 Things I Hate About You" on Friday. It IS a cute movie, I was crying for like HALF of it. Oh, the smile, that seductive little-boy smile. Damn Australians.

(On the other hand, I have my very own Snider/O'Connell crossbreed smile, which is better than anything in the world.)

If you want, then start to laugh / If you must, then start to cry...

Looking forward to taking care of Jess's cat next week, and possibly the week after. I miss having a pet, and it'll be nice to not live at home legitimately. (I've told them Kaij flips out if left alone at night. works for me.)

More later, when I'm not in such a random mood.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?