Sunday, Dec. 02, 2001 - 6:14 PM

YOU NEVER SAID MILITANTS

Yeah, cuz I have a problem with people saying "i swear to god i will never speak to a palestinian as long as i live. i hate them. KILL THEM ALL", EVEN in other people's diaries. HELLO, HATE LITERATURE. IF you want to express your views on war and such, FINE, BE MY GUEST. But for Christ's sake don't be an idiot about it, at least qualify the abuse you're about to publish about people you don't know.

Whatever. That attitude perpetuates wars. Glad it's not mine. AND DON'T SAY I DON'T KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE. I have more relatives in the IRA than you have shoes.

And yeah, I find the bombings disgusting, but as you notice, Palestinian cops and the chief Palestinian negotiator Saeb Erakat were all very quick to condemn the attacks, and make arrests.

And blaming a people for what a couple of militant offshoots do, and punishing them for it... well that sounds awfully like what they're doing in Afghanistan, doesn't it? "We're not against the Afghani people, we're after terrorists, oh sorry didn't mean to put that bomb through your roof."

Right now, everything about this makes me sick.


I NEVER SAID IT WAS RIGHT. I said I didn't know JACK SHIT about it and I DON'T agree with perpetuating vendettas because then EVERYONE ends up dead. What I OBJECTED to was you categorically expressing a hatred of palestinian (didn't see the word "militant" in there after all) people and a desire to kill them. I find that disgusting and immature. If you had said "palestinian terrorist" or something, I would have been behind you all the way. And my whole point was that even tho I have family on both sides of the Irish war, I don't support either because, even tho it involves my culture, religion, language and family, it's not my war. You can go and protest and ra-ra and do whatever the hell you want and i won't care, but if you decide that a people is to blame for the tactics of its terrorist groups... well, then you better go join the Bush administration, I guess. Good luck with that. Hope you have fun. End of discussion.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?