Sunday, Apr. 28, 2002 - 12:47 PM

:) just had Lit exam. Was great :) For once, my essays were actually more than 2 pages long, and I was writing right up 'til the end. And they were organized! :) AND... we got our essays back for that course. And I quote:

"A close and brilliant interpretation and comparison. It is equally interesting how you were able to bring in other course materials into your discussion. A-"

BOOYAH!

:) Feelin' good. Pity I didn't run spellchecker when I wrote it, I could have got an A. =p Bleh.

Got an interview in 4 hours, seriously don't want to go. Have to study for linguistics... Jackie said she's screwed too... Makes me feel a bit better.


6:43pm

Got the job (o.t.s.!), actually sounds fun. She's a lot like Miles Bosson's mother, whom I never really knew that well but was a councillor for our area, anyway. Large/tall, about 60/70-something, and as my Dad said, "Tweedy"- you know, the kind of woman who, in England, would have worn sensible tweed suits, jackets and skirts, and a tweed hat (probably floppy), with sneakers, and probably carried a horse-whip, and had a whistle around her neck, and had a pack of hounds which she walked every day, and probably was a Scout leader and called them "gels" (sounds like "bells" but with a "gu-" sound, not a "j-" sound.) And felt that Youth needed some Backbone, and it was her job to put it into them. She's nice, but... tweedy :) A bit like Penelope Keith in "To The Manor Born," which I doubt anyone who reads this has ever watched. Britcom. But instead of hounds, she has a gigantic mastiff ("Buddy"?). Like, not even joking here, I've ridden smaller horses (Jet, the Shetland pony at Sunnybrook), and I told her so. This animal's HUGE. She's like "You're not scared of dogs, are you?" I'm like "No, I'm just not used to their heads being at eye-level..." Really sweet dog tho, very tottery, apparently they have joint probs cuz they're so big. Think Scooby Doo (yes Rick...) but bigger.

Anyway, so I got the job, she likes me cuz I'm enthusiastic, and it does sound like fun. 7:30am (I blanched when she said that) to 4pm. At least it mostly avoids the hot part of the day. No drinking, no drugs, no smoking, no swearing, no clothes with political or obscene or negative writing, no rips, no ragged hems (I'm in trouble.) I'll be doing most of the planting (big garden), and basic stuff- carwashing, lawn-mowing, gardening. :) A proper summer job. Like Tara Reid in "Just Visiting." And it'll be a good work out, and it'll be good to be outside after all last year and last summer inside, and it'll be good to work hard (no I'm not trying to convince myself... ;), and sleeping in 'til 8am, come September, will seem like a luxury. I'm gonna be dead tired on weekends (sorry sweetie), but healthy, anyway. Could be an excuse to score extra massages... >:) Anyway, I start Monday, and next week I'll be making $400, so that makes me feel better. :) And I'll be home all week long, so Matt can't bitch that I'm over too much. Lots of bonuses :)


I love Chriss-logic: this summer I'm a landscape designer (Daddy suggested "environmental landscape designer"), and I'm nearly management level because if I need something heavy lifted, I point and the guys do it for me :) I love it!

Hey, let's do something cool next summer, let's have an Avon business or something! :)))


It's a Mad, Mad Discworld: Terry Pratchett

May 10, 2002 Medical Sciences Auditorium- 1 King's College Circle at 7:30 PM FREE

He's clever. He's hilarious. Best-selling writer, Terry Pratchett, author of the fabulous "Discworld" series of novels, is finally coming to Toronto! Don't miss this talented master of fantasy.

OH MY GOD!

This has been the 3rd best day of my life.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?