Friday, Oct. 25, 2002 - 9:16 PM

I love myself today
Not like yesterday
I'm cool
I'm calm
I'm gonna be ok, uh-huh!

I love myself today
Not like yesterday
Take another look at me now
Cuz it's your last look
Your last look forever!

Downloaded a bunch of Bif in my efforts to convert Loz. ;)

Alanis Morissette's song "Unsent" (which I always liked) was just playing on the radio. As I've noted before (but not here), there is VERY LITTLE of that song I'd have to change to make it apply to me- I mean, I'd only have to change 3 of the names! (No, I don't know a Terrence. Shame on me.) :

dear matthew,
I like you a lot
I realize you're in a relationship with someone right now
and I respect that
I would like you to know that
if you're ever single in the future
and you want to
come visit me in california
I would be
open to spending time with you
and finding out how old you were
when you wrote your first song

dear jonathan,
I liked you too much
I used to be attracted to boys who would lie to me
and think solely about themselves
and you were plenty self-destructive for my taste at the time
I used to say 'the more tragic the better'
the truth is
whenever I think of the early 90's
your face comes up with a vengeance
like it was yesterday

dear terrence,
I love you muchly
you've been nothing but open hearted
and emotionally available
and supportive
and nurturing
and consummately there for me
I kept drawing you in and pushing you away
I remember how beautiful it was to
fall asleep on your couch
and cry in front of you for the first time
you were the best platform from which to jump beyond myself
what was wrong with me

dear marcus,
you rocked my world!
you had a charismatic way about you with the women
and you got me seriously thinking about spirituality
and you wouldn't let me get away with kicking my own ass
but I could never really feel relaxed
and looked out for (around) you, though
and it's kinda too bad
because we could've had much more fun

dear lou,
we learned so much
I realize we won't be able to talk for some time
and I understand that as
I do you
the long distance thing was the hardest
and we did as well as we could
we were together during a very tumultuous time
in our lives
I will always have your back and be curious about you
and your career, your whereabouts...

See? Jonathan = Larry. Terrence = probably Erik (before we started dating.) Lou = Mike. I wouldn't have to change the other two. (Man, now I list it like that, I feel like an experienced ho.) Still... that songs always gets to me. Just because. Too close for comfort.

Amendment: was too close for comfort. Back when these things were new and fresh and still-painful. Or just barely post-painful. Now I'm ok with it all. ;)


11:31pm

Not to sound uber-frivolous, but I was just playing Dice-A-Roo on Neopets, and I won the jackpot for the first time in 2 years (yes, I won it the first week I ever played, it was probably all of 1000 NP), and you know how much I just won?????!!!!

83 NP.

Yep. I win the jackpot for the first time in 2 years and it isn't even worth winning. Pretty bitter right now =p

(Ok, not THAT bitter.)

Definitely time for me to go to bed, tho. Got lots of Fiske and Barthes and Foucault and Lyotard to read tomorrow =p Stupid tests. At least the theorists are pretty much the same ones.


Readin' "Fifth Business" (Davies)- yes, again.
Listenin' to "I'm Afraid of Britney Spears" (LoR)
Thinkin' about nothing much. A lot of random little things.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?