Saturday, Oct. 26, 2002 - 4:32 PM

I have another confession:

I don't like punk.

I've tried, oh Lord how I've tried! And I thought a couple of Save Ferris covers were cute, and Pennywise covers (didn't they do "Brown-Eyed Girl"?), but that's the thing- nothing original there! All covers! (Of 50s songs, no less!) I thought Tilt's "Berkley Pier" was kinda sweet, and actually got to singing it in the shower. But when it comes to their other stuff.... and I downloaded a lot... it's all just noise. I can't hear any words. In fact, the one I liked best was "I Dream" (resurrection mix?) It has no words! It sounds like a super-techno Enigma! So that's it, I've come down to the conclusion I'm just not cut out for punk. I'm ok with Dropkick Murphys (thanks to Phil), but I don't actually like them. I tried Millencolin- again with the words and the hearing. Punk's just too fast for me, it makes me feel like my Dad, when he can't tell what the hell Avril's saying. Or anyone I listen to, for that matter.

What I do like is rock. I love Bif. She's great. Very Betty Page. And Live on Release, they're kinda cute (especially Leah.)

But it's not punk. And hey, man... I'm cool with that ;) Loz and C to the contrary....


7:23pm

R's got to work late and isn't coming over. =( Sad.

From the Toronto Star (L3):


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?