Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002 - 11:26 AM

Just remembered a dream I had. C and Jay and Kana and Laura and possibly a few other people and I were going on a field trip, and we stopped at this weird kind of in-between place. Like, imagine an Industrial-style Ikea. But small. And short (like, low ceilings.) There was a cookie bar in the middle of the room, with couches around it. C and I sat down on one of them, I was reading "Snowcrash," and I was really hungry so I grabbed two cookies and started eating them, fully intending to pay for them later. C was laughing and goes "You need to PAY for those!" and I was like "I'm going to!" but the counter girl comes up and she's like "You just ate them?" and I go "I was really hungry, I'm GOING to pay for them!" I had $20 on me, and the cookies were $1.29 each (the big chocolate ones with weird icing on), or if you wanted plain chocolate chip ones (which were still pretty big, like the size they used to have at Javaville), if you got 4, they were 60 cents each. So it was cheaper to get 2 more of the chocolate chip, because I didn't want to spend a vast amount of money on cookies. So I pointed to them and told her I'd have two more of those. She gave me a receipt, glaring, that came up to $10.87. I was like "What the hell? They're 60 cents each!" and she goes "Yeah well you should have paid for the first two before you ate them, we had to charge you for stolen property." I handed over the money with bad grace, then turned around, red in the face, flipping "Snowcrash" pages and sulking. Then I got up, kneeling on the couch, and turned back to the girl behind the counter- "I was going to pay for them. Really! I was just really really hungry! But it never occured to me not to pay for them!" She just glared at me and said it wasn't her problem, that was the policy, and I should know for next time now. I slunk down on the couch again, thoroughly mortified, extremely angry, trying to read.

DAMN I want a cookie now. I remember them so well from my dream- really greasy and doughy, kind of like the Pillsbury cookies before you cook them. Kinda rubbery? But good.

;) Anyway, I have $20 to spend on cookies now. I sold a FULL face-cord of apple and maple this morning. $220. ;) Go me! Now if only I could get in touch with Byron...


3:27pm

I'M SO MAD! (AND STALLING!)

I sold another full cord, same thing, apple/maple, and I STILL can't get in touch with Byron! And the guy wants it delivered tomorrow! AND I'M SO MAD!!

;) On the other hand, I just made $44 today by doing nothing, with some studying in between. ;)


9:23pm

Thank God for the power of celebrities.

STILL can't contact Byron. Had to move tomorrow's call to Thursday; hopefully I'll be able to talk to him tomorrow, or I'll have to cancel both and let it go hang.

Reviewed all my notes. Missing a fairly major book, but not much I can do about it.


Readin' Snowcrash, Hogfather (just finished), Erewhon, and unfortunately, 3 months' worth of Anthro.
Listenin' to fountain trickling.
Thinkin' about lunch, reading, Anthro exam tomorrow at NINE.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?