Tuesday, Apr. 15, 2003 - 9:10 PM

Thanks for calling, C. I needed it.

Had THE BEST DAY today. I was nervous about what the day might be like, since Sunday blew goats, but I decided I was going to be positive, cheerful and annoyingly perky. (Piss her off THAT way... twat...) Anyway, I was feeling great and Jenn was throwing up, apparently, and feeling bad. But customers were thanking, complimenting and tipping me left, right and centre. And Jenn had to watch.

One elderly lady was really wonderful: I was weighing out some fruit jelly thingies for her, and she was like "It's so grat to get good customer srevice these days, you hardly ever see it anymore" (cuz I'd made some extra effort getting her a clear box, and stuff) and I'm like "WELL, I've been told off a number of times for spending time on customers..." And she's like "You haven't! Well I think you're being wonderful, above and beyond the call of duty!" So I was chuffed, and suggested that, to fit more candy in, I could cut it up and wedge it in the holes. So I went to go do that, and when I came back, she's like "Is that man with the dreadlocks your manager? ["Yes"] Do you mind if I tell him what great customer service you gave me? That you really are being fantastic?" So I was all blushing, but going "Yeah, sure, thank you!"
So I'm ringing her candy in at the till, and Jenn's at the till next to me while the lady's going on about how great I'm being and how far beyond the call of duty I'm going, and I point to Jenn and go "Actually, this is our assistant manager Jenn..." [from Daddy: "You cow! I bet you enjoyed it! HEEHEHEHEEHEE!"] and of course the lady launches off on this spiel to Jenn about how I'm so great and I took the time to make it look great and it's wonderful customer service, etc. etc. So I'm still blushing, and Jenn's saying "Wow Kerry you rock the block" in an I'm-chewing-slugs kind of voice, and I grab the box to wrap it. I start cutting the paper, and I can't see the lady anywhere. Then I spot her- dragging Neal over to my wrapping space, telling him loudly about how great I am, how I go beyond the call of duty, what superb customer service it is, etc etc. ;) She's like "Isn't that BEAUTIFUL?" and he's like "... yeah, actually, it is..." and Jenn is being totally pissed off... Anyway, Neal thanked me for all my hard work (not sure if he was being sarcastic, as in, saying it for Jenn's benefit, or if he was being sincere) when he left, and I stayed smug until close. ;) That's why today rocked. I'm still drafting my resignation letter (the phrase "So far, I've been reprimanded for being friendly to customers, giving customers directions, and giving a little kid sprinkles on her ice-cream. I think LS should be more concerned about its customers and less concerned about its profit-margin." is SO going to be in there), but I decided that Jenn's trying to make me quit, so NOT quitting would piss her off far more. And that's the vindictive type of bitch I am :)


Readin' nothing
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about juice!

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?