Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003 - 9:56 AM

After reading Lori's entry on her ex, I couldn't help bringing some similarities to mind. R was probably the first one (Erik's debatable) to not build up "I love you" into something big. Larry made me put down the Halloween costume I was working on to say it (I didn't hear it the first 2 times cuz he was being quiet, but I got the point), Erik turned "I love you as a friend" to "I love you" and we had a big issue distinguishing between the two, which was basically the hub of THAT whole 2-month relationship; Mike refused to say it for quite a while and eventually did, on the phone, after a night of drinking (somehow, I remember pidgeons coming into it, or chickens, but I don't remember why), and the most Steve said was "I never thought I'd find a girl I'd feel for the same way I feel about Kate, but I've known you a week and I do, let's have sex." R never blew it out of proportion, or withheld it.

In fact, I never talked much about R and my first meeting (it was all so new!), I guess because we're still together and it's private (ye gods, I can be private about something?!)

We met at Rosedale Station, and took the bus back to the park near my house. We sat on a bench, overlooking the Don Valley Brickworks, which is now open as an archeological site, and the DVP, and talked for hours. We didn't even kiss for the first two, barely looked at each other, just sat there, leaning against one another. I couldn't understand why I felt so shy, after having done Steve the second time I met him (technically) a month before. [Yes, I realize that was crass. Sorry.] He was just so good and pure and I didn't want to muck him up. So it took me 2 hours to kiss him. And then I remembered and said "Can I say it? Can I say it?" and he laughed and said "Sure" and I suddenly felt shy and said "You say it first" (all grade 4, I know), so he said "I love you Ker" and I said "I love you too" and it's now nearly 2 years later (next week.) :) So that's how great love sagas start. Now you know.


11:51am

Stalling on essay (quel surprise.) Just checked to see if my marks are in yet (they're not), and I noticed the class averages were up for first term. I did better than most people in Incontinent Philosophers :)))) I got a B, and the average was C+ :))) that was a FUCKING hard course, so I'm very proud. Go me!

Have made giant beer-mug of coffee, settling down to work. And wearing new platforms and singing "Staying Alive." Of course.


2:30pm

(Still stalling.)

Decided I was getting tired of trying to sound like Barry Gibb, and downloaded another ton of Old Weezer again :) Especially a cover of "Mrs. Robinson," which I didn't have before (and which I sang all the way to work yesterday while watching a young highschool boy and a Lady of a Certain Age. "Mother" my ass. "Most of all, you've got to hide it from the kids, kookookachoo Mrs. Robinson...") And one cover of "Hit Me Baby One More Time," but I think it's Travis, not Weezer. Heh. That song's so much better than Britney made it.


7:17pm

Arg. Just got new update deleted.

Basically, I was looking up "diatribe" on Dictionary.com and it gave the etymology: "Dia" meaning 'completely' and "tr bein" meaning 'to rub, to wear away, to waste time" and the word "diatr bein" meaning �to rub hard,� or �to spend or waste time.�

They have one word for both "to rub hard" and "to waste time"? Hur, hur, hur... guess we know what the ancient Greeks called masturbation then... hur, hur, hur....


8:23pm

There's a spider on the ceiling which is now on it's 3rd lap. I saw it this afternoon while talking to Katarina on the phone, but Daddy wasn't around so I couldn't have it killed. So I blew it off the ceiling and it landed somewhere on the court cupboard (the big mahogany thing, for those that know the layout of my house.) I didn't see it for a couple of hours, but it started again about an hour ago, and it's making good time. Now nearly done the 3rd lap. Fast lttle bugger.

Daddy comes home within half an hour. He'll kill it then.

Karma my ass.

If killing spiders was meant to be bad karma, God wouldn't have made them so unlikable.


Readin' "Moving Pictures" (Pratchett)
Listenin' to silence :)
Thinkin' about breakfast and essay

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?