Monday, Jun. 02, 2003 - 4:28 PM

Holy beaurocracy, Batman!

I just spent the last hour and a half being bumped around from person to person, department to department, voicemail to voicemail. Why, you ask? (You do, trust me.) Because I got a nasty little letter from the Faculty of Arts and Science saying I didn't have the requirements to graduate. Why? Because I petitioned for deferral. Had I not done so, and settled for a 60%, it would have been hassle-free. As I decided to create potential Pains In The Ass for myself by petitioning, my transcript was marked SDF, for whatever that stands for, probably "standing deferred" or something. Hence an inability to graduate, since the requirements were incomplete. I called Vic registrar, A&S registrar, I called the Anthro undergrad co-ordinator, admin assistant, general inquiries, and finally ended up talking to Richard Lee, whom my Dad had 25 years ago, the sole reason I was forbidden to take Anthro in first year. He was alright, but dry. Anyway, long story short, I harassed him, he said he'd harass my prof, and should he not get a mark back within 3 days, he'd "assign" me one based on my average and similar courses. He called my prof at home to harass him, but he wasn't there, so Lee called me back. When I got off the phone with him the 2nd time, I checked ROSI again, and my mark was in (5 minutes later...) -- 84%. Which means a) my prof had just entered it, b) I got an 80% on my final exam, and c) I have all my marks in! Called Lee back to tell him, he went to go check with the registrar to make sure everything was alright, he called me back and said it was, so HOORAY! I'M GRADUATING! While fully prepared to explain to the registrar that my prof could not find his own bottom with both hands and a map...


Readin' "Restaurant at the End of the Universe" (D.A.)
Listenin' to the blower fan over the oven cuz I burnt another spinach cake
Thinkin' about Sims and stuff :)

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?