Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 11:47 PM

I've decided that I need a bloody big computer desk, for the same reasons Veblen said lawns were important: prime, unconsumed pasture. I need to own desk space. It makes me feel rich and expansive. Space-ful.

Due to Mum's new penchant for putting my stuff in bags and leaving it at the bottom of the stairs to "tidy up," I have decided to become as self-contained as possible, in my room. Hence the need for Mad IKEA Shopping. I've started on a room-redesigning program (dubbed the "Urban Renewal Project"), which will, hopefully at least in my dreams, include a new work-station, chair, shelves, clothing drawers, bookshelves, laundry bins, lamps, notice boards (dry erase and magnetic; I want it all, baby), magazine racks (for mail and bills) and possibly a small fridge (acquired from work -- hooray staff discount!) This is going to take a few paycheques. Wondering what happened to the Billy line -- good cheap bookshelves.

(Incidentally, Mum's reaction to this new desire for furniture was "I'm glad to see you're treating this house as a home and not a shelter," to which I answered "Oh hell no. I just want to stay in my room as much as possible." She's been quiet since.)

Want another day off. When Stacey comes back, and we hire at least one more person, I'm going to cut my hours down, so I can have 3 days off.

Hmmm. After the URP is completed.


Readin' IKEA
Listenin' to "Reaper Man"
Thinkin' about shelving

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?