Sunday, Aug. 31, 2003 - 12:05 AM

Last night was the pilot episode of "Dharma and Greg", so despite the lateness of the hour, and the fact that I had a 10-hour shift today, and the drawback that I wasn't at R's, I watched it. It's one of my (our?) favourites, mainly because it reminds me so much of us. R isn't as anal as Greg, and I'm not as "free-spirited" as Dharma, but when R and I first started talking, he was pretty shocked (to avoid the word "appalled") at my behaviour. Granted, I was also trying to be shocking at the time, but come on, like Dharma never tries. (They really are a lot like us.) For those of you who have never seen it, the first episode of D&G starts with them running into each other on the subway as kids and exchanging A Look; 15-20 years later, they run into each other again (cue second Look.) Greg's thinking about her all the way to his law offices, only to find her sitting on his desk. They go out, go to a baseball game, fly to Reno for blueberry pie, and get married to "skip all that dating stuff." (The classic line: "A shaman told me that if you look into your soulmate's eyes, you can see all the generations you'll have together." Classic.) Greg meets Dharma's friends and family ("I got married!" "Shut up!" "No YOU shut up!"), which goes ok, Dharma meets Greg's parents, which does not. Fighting in the car ensues, both split up, crying on Support Network's shoulders "I was so sure s/he was the one!" Much soul-searching, ending in Dharma going home miserable because she's without him, and he's waiting on her upstairs landing ("Shut up!" "No YOU shut up.") Very cute, much kissing, so begins the saga, etc. etc. It's a cute episode. That and the one where Dharma goes to Donald's prom are my favourites (but I swear, I only watch it for R....)

Result being, I'm damn tired, and cold, but don't really want to go to bed. Man, my kids are going to have all the fun taken out of "let-me-stay-up" arguments, because I have them down pat.

In other news, Family Guy Vol. 2 comes out Sept. 9 (just under $60), so I'm SO getting that; and I'm continuing on with hypnosis for the full year (after which, if I don't lose the weight, they give me free classes until I do- hooray!) I only figured out a few days ago that I was prolonging the time between visits so I didn't have to go to The Last One. Now I won't have to ;)


Readin' nothing, as far as I can remember
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about bed

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?