Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2004 - 1:24 PM

I think it's obvious how tired I was yesterday by the number of typos in that entry.

Parents took me by surprise last week in expressing gratitude (to me) both for BB and for R, for teaching me things over the past year, making me happy, and grounding me. Making me face reality. Originally, I thought they would have hated me working for BB (tho it was better than LS), but apparently not. (Well, obviously not, they've spent something like $3000 there, saving between $500 and $1000.) They said BB taught me things I couldn't learn in school or from anyone else, and that I was a lot more mature, etc etc. This after me saying I felt like I'd pretty much wasted this year- I have tuition and book money set for next year, but nothing much to show beyond that, except for a vastly expanded knowledge-base about electronics, what to look for in a phone, how to treat stereo systems, the advantages of one MP3 player over another. I've also gained a confidence about my worth (at least $9.36/hr), which was done without any parental or "family friend" intervention; in a way, that, like graduating within 4 years, is very important to me, because it was done under my own steam.

Musing done, quiche is ready, I'm off to read for a while :) I feel balanced, mostly because I made peace with myself over a few things that have been hanging me by the throat- like Skinner says, peace of mind comes from self-control, and self-control often affects control of others.

It's enough for me to be happy. :)


2:25pm

I've identified the feeling: I'm grateful.


Readin' The Truth
Listenin' to Great Big Sea interview on 99.9
Thinkin' about "eggy-pies" ( -- Nanny Ogg)

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?