Monday, Jan. 24, 2005 - 5:11 PM

R and I cleaned up at the staff party last night. Most of the prizes were kinda cheap or tacky, nothing like as nice as last year's (nights at the hotel, TVs, Xboxes, MP3 players, cameras, all kinds of stuff), but I won a Monster Cable power bar, which I was slightly annoyed (but overall grateful) with, since we don't have HDTV. Then they announced they were drawing the PS2, and I turned to Rick and said "Win that for me!" and he said "O.K." and then they called his number. Was excited about that, but since we have DDR for Xbox (which we won at last year's party), and I don't really need any other games for now... Still, gives us some options. And a progressive scan DVD player, too :)

The rest of the party was ok: food was good, but they screwed up and put the prizes before the dancing, so of course everyone left right after. I bought a shirt at Smart Set (excuse me, Kitty's in the toaster), a black wrap shirt that's VERY low-cut, in a slightly tasteful way. So even though I wasn't super-frilly like Katie, the cleavage added to the whole "I am woman, hear me roar" thing I had going.

Well, that and the PS2, anyway. :)


10:42pm

Last week I started to teach the cat to jump up on command, using kolbassa, and she can now do it perfectly. I mentioned that my next goal was a "come" command, and as I'm here in Rick's room typing, I can hear Matt trying to teach her. Slightly annoyed, and slightly annoyed about being slightly annoyed. She's my cat, he has no right teaching her! It's not like he feeds her or cleans her or empties her litter box! (Mostly Rick does this, but still.) And I wouldn't want him to! She's not his, she's mine! And hence the annoyment about being irritated about this: it's petty and mean of me to feel this way, and anyway, cats just love the ones who feed them, no more, no less. But I resent his intrusion. Think this is part of his newly mounted "I'm capable of taking care of the cat when you're on vacation" campaign, instigated ever since I mentioned that Katie would be taking care of Nibbler when we go to Maine in the summer. And again with the guilt about feeling petty. Maybe it's on the same level as mothers who feel jealous when their kids like their preschool teachers more. Or how Mum felt maybe, I don't know. Ech. more guilt.

Anyway. Thought over. And out.


Readin' Maskerade!!!
Listenin' to the kitty running around
Thinkin' about Nutella

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?