Monday, May. 30, 2005 - 9:15 PM

(As a note: my sup is a fuckwit. He changed the schedule on SATURDAY tp make me work today. I was in BOBCAGEON on Saturday, as he should have known because he fucked up my schedule for this weekend, which I had booked off in order to go to Rick's family reunion, and had to amend it to reflect my goddamn absence. And yet, even though he changed my schedule on SATURDAY, the DAY I'm OUT OF TOWN, he didn't feel the need to let me know this, and now I look like a retard. Fuckwit.)

(Second note: was thinking last night about Chomsky's Universal Grammar and how, to most girls, being called a bitch or a twat is much less serious and hurtful than being called a cunt. Why? Because, as Chomsky stipulated, "ee" and "i" sounds, high sounds, are associated with the light or the positive - we did an exercise in class where we had to guess what was the Chinese for "light", I think the options were "ching" and "chung" but I could be wrong on the second one. It's "ching," apparently. Anyway, "bitch" and "twat" are "light", non-serious, non-negative sounds, because they're corner-sounds [where your mouth is stretched out in a smile shape.] "Cunt" is a round sound, so it has heavy, negative or evil connotations. Which is why women hate being called a cunt a lot more. Or whore. Also interesting to note that, while these are all sexual references, on "cunt" and "whore" are seen as dirty, Same deal. Anyway.)

So, we went to Rick's family reunion this weekend. He has a BIIIIIGGGG family. The reservations were for 40. His twin cousin D'Arcy (who was born a few hours before him, and whom we're inviting down from Ottawa to spend a couple of days when we have our ALW BBQ) was there, along with his daughter Holly, and Rick's sister was there with her kids and her new husband. They're all very kind, welcoming people in a way my family really isn't - Granny does kind of assume that, if her relatives or progeny like you, you're automatically part of the family, but everyone else is slightly standoffish and, well, British. Being inside a REAL Canadian family is a bit of culture-shock, really.

Will post pictures when I've uploaded them, if R wants me to.


Readin' The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about that Black Eyed Peas song with Fergie in the red dress.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?