Monday, Jul. 25, 2005 - 9:34 PM

My teeth hurt and I'm tired and disoriented. Bloody dvd reset.

12 days until Moving Day. I finally got my Sure Fit Twill Sage/Khaki slipcover ($65 down from $199!), through an amazing stroke of luck. Shudder to think of the credit card. So now, we've got a slipcovered couch, microwave, a bed (AND a slatted bed base and midbeam - Rick's theory is that they don't put these items anywhere near the bed frames, or tell you that you need them, just to make you return to the store when your hands aren't full), a mattress AND a mattress topper (which had the idiosyncratic ability to both be extremely comfortable and make my should hurt like a bitch), a few small mirrors, extra pillows and a cat blanket, candles aplenty (the newest ones are tuscan fig and midsummer night, which smells a lot like "linen" and also quite a bit like "plastic"), glasses (in 3 different sizes!), wine glasses (for parents' use, mostly), patio lights which look like big red roses, a big-ass 32" tv we SERIOUSLY don't need, the 200 y/o wooden armchair in the hall which has owls carved on the back and dragons carved on the arms; cleaning materials Mum got from Costco for signing up, and a futon Mum donated to us without checking with Daddy, which is why Daddy spent a large chunk of the day cutting down my old bed, so that he could turn it into a day-bed for himself when he sleeps in the study. I said he could keep the futon if he wanted, but they seem to think we'll need all the furniture we can get (and have tried to press at least 2 more armchairs on us.)

The kitty's apparently pretty disoriented by the packing - she alternates between trying to investigate every box Rick packs by climbing into it and sniffing around, and hiding in her cat carrier. Looking forward to getting her settled into the new place. Looking forward to moving forward.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?