Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001 - 9:09 PM

So, for posterity and the memory of the 20,000-odd people who died today, and as a historical momento, I'm recording the day's events: The World Trade Building, in NY, was hit by 2 planes which brought both towers down. The planes were hijacked by terrorists, origin yet unknown but strongly believed to be Bin Laden, or possibly Taliban, eastern political groups. Another plane crashed into the Pentagon, and there were 2 more crashes, although the one in Pittsburgh might be unrelated. 50,000 worked in the World Trade Building. The ash is still falling, nearly 12 hours after the incident, and there's a big cloud over New York.

What worries me so much is that over the past 2 weeks, plane crashes have been reported very frequently. I'm sure that the US, with its usual energy and lust for vengeance (justified, in this case) will root out the culprits, or at least people who could look like culprits, and nuke them. But frankly, I'm not too keen on flying anywhere anytime soon. Aaliya died a few weeks ago in a plane crash. Air Transat has had incident after incident since then. And now this. I bet land and sea travel is suddenly going to become a lot more popular again.

It's like waking up to the Apocalypse- part "Oh my god those poor people!", part "We're next!", part "Whoa, that was out of the blue." I don't really know what to think, I think it's just too big to process for me right now. I'm good at denial, and I don't panic much when stuff's farther away than north york. But if it helps at all- I'm sorry.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?