Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2002 - 1:06 PM

Reading through Andwew's profile, and followed a couple of links, to a friend of his (or a friend of a friend) who liked the movie "Hudsucker Proxy." Now, i KNOW i've seen it. But for the life of me, I can't remember what it's about. Ahhhhh, allmovie.com... Ah. Ok. Vaguely remember. Thought it was kind of boring. I love that site tho.

OH GOD! Following up on links, the girl who was in Hudsucker Proxy was Jennifer Jason Leigh, who was in "Fast Times At Ridgemont High", which was... oh god... 80's. Hated that movie. Judge Reinhold's awesome tho. And old, now, too... 45? My childhood youth is slipping away...

Badly want a chocolate bar. Or a cookie. Something with large amount of sugar and chocolate. The lack is starting to kick in... Arrrrrrg, withdrawal! =/ urrr... need some kind of distraction or something. Or diabetic candy, that would be ok. Or any type of chocolate WHATSOEVER! =/ arg. Don't dwell on it, don't dwell on it... *sigh* It's going to be a long day....


And when they nail my pimpled ass to the cross
I'll tell them I found Jesus, that should throw them off
He goes by the name J�sus ("Hay-Zeus")
And steals hub-caps from cars
Oh J�sus can I borrow your crowbar?


I was listening to "Back In The USSR" (Beatles song) and thinking how I'd never really understood how ironic they are before. I remember remarking on the Beach-Boys-Like quality of the song (oh don't even get me started on how the Beach Boys held back women's rights 50 years), and Erik said "yeah, the BBC or someone interview the Beach Boys, asking them what they thought of the Beatles, and they were all 'Oh yeah we love them, they're awesome, they're so great, we respect them so much', and then the Beatles were asked what they thought of the Beach Boys, and they were like 'They SUCK! That song was TOTALLY to make fun of them!' " I don't know how true it is cuz it was Erik who said that, and he tended to exaggerate to be funny (tho he always WAS funny, so it worked out.) But seriously- look at the lyrics:

Back in the USSR

Flew in from Miami Beach BOAC
Didn't get to bed last night
On the way the paper bag was on my knee
Man I had a dreadful flight
I'm back in the USSR
You don't know how lucky you are boy
Back in the USSR

Been away so long I hardly knew the place
Gee it's good to be back home
Leave it till tomorrow to unpack my case
Honey disconnect the phone
I'm back in the USSR
You don't know how lucky you are boy
Back in the USSR
Well the Ukraine girls really knock me out
They leave the West behind
And Moscow girls make me sing and shout
That Georgia's always on my mind.

I'm back in the USSR
You don't know how lucky you are boys
Back in the USSR

Show me round your snow peaked
mountains way down south
Take me to your daddy's farm
Let me hear your balalaika's ringing out
Come and keep your comrade warm...

I'm back in the USSR
You don't know how lucky you are boys
Back in the USSR


Beach Boys style with a communist twist... I love it...


Well, on the whole, despite the fact Mum shut my thumb in a drawer (hard) by accident (I dropped my crackers on the floor and started whimpering, and she immediately grabbed me and hugged me going "I'm so sorry, I'm so sorry!"... It was kind of worth it :), I had a really good day today. Being back on the diet's making me feel pro-active about myself, which is good. (Of course, I say that now- wait til the sugar withdrawal's REALLY kicking in.) Watched "Shrek" with Daddy over dinner again (we both think Shrek looks like Gabe), looked through Avon catalogue (so much I want!), got a call from Rick while I was doing the washing up after watching a show that was exactly like us- I don't know what show, some comedy about a 30-something black couple who've been married for 17 years. He was playing video games, she wanted quality attention, and I sat through the whole thing going "Oh my god that's us!" I told him all about it when he called and he started cracking up :) "Absence makes the heart grow fonder"- once, I made up a poem to contradict this, but I think, on whole, I'd have to agree with Duc de La Rochefoucauld, who said "Absence extinguishes small passions and increases great ones, as the wind will blow out a candle, and blow in a fire." I miss Rick like hell, but it feels kinda like I'm growing up, I'm not going all insane with missing him, just feeling like I love him more, more deeply, more completely... just more.

It's a good feeling :)


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?