Monday, Mar. 18, 2002 - 12:46 PM

Very tired, couldn't sleep last night cuz I had a nap earlier on. Normally I can sleep through a nuclear holocaust, but for some reason I didn't get to sleep 'til 2am. Arg.

Otherwise, feeling fairly good. Got one major-ass essay for tomorrow, and totally forgot about my linguistics homework (translating Persian... I hate that woman), but I did it first thing this morning in the library. So at least semi-productive.

Ever get that feeling, you're walking through a crowd, or past a bunch of people, and you just stare at one of them and your mind kind of blanks and you wonder, Did I ever date that guy? Yeah, I'm getting that more and more these days.

Got some good ideas for WAKKA (why "WAKKA", I'm not entirely sure, but I expect Chriss'll probably, at some point, let me know ;) something having to do with writing 75K words in 6 weeks. Not sure I'm allowed to lay them out here in case I get my head bitten off and get the hole spat down for cheating. See, I'm literary! I'll lay out the rules (as per Chriss) here, and if anyone wants to join, email her! (Or me, and I'll pass it one- damned if I know what's happening...)

Name: Operation WAKKA!

Goal: To write a reasonably non-shitty book over the course of this summer.
The way this works is that over the course of about 6 weeks you write somewhere around 75,000 words (if you write more, power to you; 75k is the bottom limit). A two-week break ensues wherein no one is allowed to look at or even think about their manuscript. Come August first, a frantic month of book-editing begins. At midnight of August 31st, all editing will cease, and each person will have their own (completely written by them) book.

Guidelines: * No writing prior to the start time. That's just cheating. (You are allowed, however, to think all you like about plot, characters, witty stylistic devices or whatever.) Whipping out a short story written in highschool, and just fleshing out is therefore RIGHT OUT.
* Make sure you've got close to 75k words before the editing. If you need your character to quote long passages from LOTR in the middle to achieve that, go ahead. After all, this isn't meant to produce quality literature. Merely a respectable-sized novel.
* Read nanowrimo.com for some other background info.

Tentative schedule: Saturday June 1st, 00:00:01. Start writing.
Saturday July 13th, 24:00:00. Stop writing. Start drinking.
Thurdsay August 1st, 00:00:01. Stop drinking. Start editing.
Saturday August 31st, 24:00:00. Stop editing. Cry. Start drinking.

Dunno if I can actually do 75K words... but it would be cool if I could. I think my Dad's in, too! :) He definitely liked the idea, and was all grinning about it and stuff, anyway, even though he was daunted by the length. But hey, that's... only... 18.75 essays... sort of... awwwww damn.

Anyway, off to read Eric- I sent it to my hotmail account so I could read it at school :)


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?