Wednesday, May. 08, 2002 - 4:22 PM

Well, that's all she wrote, folks.

[For some reason, that saying always reminds me of Angela Landsbury. Did she have a show called that? No, it was "Murder, She Wrote." Anyway, I always think of her when I hear that.]

I quit. I've never quit before (Michelangelo's doesn't count, it was for 1 day, he didn't pay me, and he pinched me.) Anyway. I just told her I couldn't come back, and burst into tears (go me.) She seemed to be expecting it (the quitting, not the tears), and was very kind, and said she shouldn't have hired a girl since it's all man-work this summer, and I shouldn't have any probs finding another job, etc etc. A couple of the things she said (about not hiring a girl, and the fact that she overhired) made me wonder if subconsciously, she was being mean and hard on me so I'd leave and she'd only have the boys to deal with. Ehn, just a theory. I told Paul to find me at Coffee, Tea or Me in the fall, he said he's usually at the starbuck's on College and at Stein's, so we talked for a bit about stein's people, he didn't know Skankydave but then, Dave hasn't been around for a few months. They look like they'd be friends tho- construction rats. You know, guys who hang out on construction sites and like construction jobs. Don't tend to be too bright. Construction rats.

So have now had a nap and feeling much better, lighter. Got $200, too =p Pity, $400/week IS good, but there's no sense killing myself for it. I wish my parents saw it that way.

One of the guys mashed his hand in the wood-splitter. She didn't even have a first-aid kit in the house, let alone on site. Couldn't believe it. He fractured a finger, ripped some muscles and needed 10 stitches. He was nice, Scott, went to UCC, knew Gavin, apparently. I forgot to ask about Kalvik tho. And didn't David Katzman go there? (aww, he was such a cute little guy...)

When I was trimming the edges of the grass (on all fours, with hedge-clippers, because she doesn't like the sound of her motorized edge-trimmer... nevermind the lawn-mower and the wood-splitter noise...), Tiber, the Great Dane, came up to me and started head-butting me... it made me feel better. That's what I do to Rick when I need comfort, and Tiber was obviously trying to make me feel better. That or he was hungry, cuz I gave him some chicken earlier. I called him Tibby all day when I found that pissed her off.

Anyway, so I need a new job now, and I miss the chocolate mousse. =/ I don't want to start the cycle again...


Well, I just typed out a bunch of songs that I heard or sang today that made me feel better, but the friggin' "open window" thingy here just erased my entry. GARH! I HATE it when I do that! Ok, basically, Dar Williams' "You're Aging Well," Barenaked Ladies' "Too Little Too Late," Sheryl Crow's "We Do What We Can," Semisonic's "Closing Time" (the bit "Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's end", which I hope will be me). GARH! If you want the lyrics you can look them up YOURSELF now! =p


A year ago today, I was really nervous. I can't believe it's been a year. It's gone by so quickly... I've never been in love for a whole year before. And our relationship has changed (a little), and we've changed (some), and our lives have changed (quite a lot.) I can't believe how happy I've been :)


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?