Monday, may 6th, 2002 - 10:45ish

Desperately searching for the PC white mac&cheese. I know it's here somewhere and it's all I want right now.

Today has not been a good day. Went through a variety of emotions, ok, accepting, tired, worn, depressed, forlorn, desperate, overwhelmed, giving-up. Rehashed all these when I came home and people asked how my first day was.

I work for a grass-Nazi.

(Grass-Nazi: lit.; a middle-aged or elderly person who employs you to do their gardening or outdoor work, and then follows you around while you're carrying something big and heavy screaming "Don't step on the grass!")

It... just... was not... good. Not a good headspace. I was sore and tired and worn out and on the verge of tears for about 4 hours. There are slugs and snakes in that garden. She keeps telling me to do stuff, and just when I'm firmly entrenched, tells me to do other stuff. I had to laugh when I thought of how I'd written "sort of manual labour" yesterday- "sort of" my ass.

But it is $400 cash on Friday, and it is nice, sort of, to end early, and getting up wasn't that bad, and cycling was quite nice albeit a little tough after 6 years, and it wasn't too hot and there weren't too many bugs. I came home and had a 45min shower, really hot, with the vibrator head so it was nothing at all like a massage (but was apparently meant to be.) Had a nap with the heating pad, now have angry red marks on my right side where I slept on the heat too long. Have welts on the backs of my legs from my new boots.

Put it this way: I could be a lot happier right now.

I'm going to stay for the rest of the week, see if it gets easier, and if not, go look for a new job. It should get easier once the groundwork is done. Seems to me I had harder physical work than the guys did, who were more or less weeding the slope and holding bits of wood for the carpenter to nail together. Was seriously thinking of booking a daily 15mins with Sutherland-Chan, every day, as soon as I get the money. Seems nowhere actually gives 15min sessions though. I haven't been dirty like that since I spent the summer at Sunnybrook Riding Camp. Smelled more or less the same, too, bit less shit but hard to tell, really.

And the dog's name is Tiberius.

Tomorrow had seriously better be... better.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?