Wednesday, Jul. 10, 2002 - 12:09 PM

Hm. For some reason, inordinately disturbed by emails from Paul. I guess because I had a certain mental image of him for the last 2 years, and suddenly he's changed it, without warning. Guess that makes sense.

Nibbly. Miss R, too. 2 more days... On garbage detail tonight, then I'm WALKING to Bloor, then biking the rest of the way. Fuck that, I'm not gonna let my mother rescind and graciously grant her little favours when it pleases her. It's all or nothing.

Looking forward to relaxing this weekend, before the big adrenalyn rush of Monday at 6am. Wish my CD drive worked for music, I can't hear from Eddie's computer. It'll be good when Joice is gone on vacation next week- can have music all the time. And my black metal In-box Tray (which I cycled to work with today, sitting on it from home to Bloor, very pointy, carrying it from Bloor to work, pretty heavy) has all my papers arranged in it: the "old" tray, the "current/new" tray, and the "garbage" tray. I need more slots.

Feel good, overall. It's sunny out, not too hot, I don't mind cleaning up the street as long as it looks good and I make money, and I'm being independant. The woman called back about the "bchlr$250inXchangefor...", but Eddie was on the phone and I didn't get to talk to her. Will call back when this honkin' big truck in front of the office with the noisy engine ("Bake Mark") leaves. I doubt I'll go for it, since it might preclude me having a job, it might produce a conflict of interest (between Joice and everyone else), and I might not be able to go home after dark. =p But hey... if it'll make me feel better....

Not that I feel bad right now :)


8:30pm

Two things:


Strange turn of events. My Dad collapsed in Eaton's Center today. Mum told me when she got back from the hospital. They've done some tests at Mt. Sinai and it wasn't a heart-attack, but it might have been a mini-heart attack, or a mini-stroke, or his heart murmur, or something else, and he has more tests tomorrow. I was talking on the phone with Cassis when Mum signalled she wanted to talk, and while I was still mad at her for the whole yesterday-thing, I let her talk, and she explained, and she looked like she was going to crack, so I got off the phone, and hugged her, and felt her shaking like she was going to cry. We sat down and talked a bit, then Daddy called to say he was out and could we pick him up, and Mum's been nagging ever since (she does that when she's worried, that's what yesterday was about too; just because she only does it when she's worried doesn't mean it's not annoying.) I made them dinner, and moderated the nagging, and they're both ok now, and Mum was terrified and everyone's shaken up but she thanked me for the support. For a moment, when she told me, I had a brief flash of Life Without Daddy, and I started to freak out, but then I saw her start to crumble, so I dealt with that first. I don't know what I would have done without Daddy. He's ok now, but he's asked Mum to drive for the next few days, so I'm still kinda scared. Anyway, wait and hope.


Second thing: Queerscribe, whom I've always admired and respected, said something that upset me rather, today. He, much like I tend to, was ranting against the Catholic Church, and its position on homosexuality. He was saying that he considers it a sin that his acquaintance Karl became a Catholic priest, that it's hypocritical that he's teaching "family values" when he's gay, that he's hiding behind the altar, so to speak. He seemed very violent and passionate about it. Personally, I think this is something he's let his heart, rather than head, guide.
Any priest, any nun, is asked to give up their relationships because they are "marrying the Church." While I don't believe in celibacy for the clergy (it would probably result in less fuckups), I respect people who have taken it on. Male or female, gay or straight, if you believe you love God enough to remain celibate, then I'm impressed. Straight guys are asked to not screw around, why isn't it "hiding" and "denying themselves" in their cases? Maybe Karl (with whom QS, no disrespect intended and I really mean that, had never talked) felt that God was more important to him than getting laid. Maybe for once, this isn't a queer thing. Maybe it's a God thing. Maybe Karl has always felt he had a calling, and if he was strong enough to put aside his sex life for his beliefs, then I would be impressed. If I knew him. Which I don't. SO it doesn't matter.


Daddy poked me in the stomach to get me out of the way and stabbed RIGHT into my rings. OW. =p At least he's feeling better. The bastard fixed my bike, too. Bastard. Now I do have to cycle. :)


Readin' the Toronto Star
Listenin' to noisy truck outside
Thinkin' about Louisiana Chicken Wrap (Mr. Sub.)

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?