Wednesday, Jul. 24, 2002 - 7:07 PM

:) Just been out driving for an hour. Drove all around Sunnybrook (where we used to have the Level I-V picnic), and then Daddy drove us up to Thorncliffe, and I drove all around the industrial section there, and came out near the new houses near the Leaside Business Depot, and then drove through Leaside, and then drove home. :) I made a bunch of left turns, too! (Red used to dread those, I remember...) :) Had a good time, and when we got in, Daddy said I was doing extremely well, and much better than he thought I could. :) Yay!

The only possible flaw to the plan is that the wonderfulness of my freedom is matched only by the incandescent quality of my permanent road-rage. Still, good times.

Was trying to figure out last night the different between diarists I respect, and my diary. I took, of course, as my model, Queerscribe. As he was kind enough to let me have access to his full name, I now know a little more about him than is obvious at reader's glance. But why is his writing so much better than mine? Not just the language- the actual quality.

And I concluded that he has anonimity on his side, which permits him to focus in on an intensely private moment, and aid the flow of words, ideas, feelings, whereas I'm relegated to reasonably mundane writing. But I have a private diary, so why don't I use it?

Because it's private, stupid. Because I need an audience, just like QS, and there's no point writing extremely poingnant entries to myself. If I have something to remember, something sweet, bitter, powerful, something worth not forgetting, then I'll write it down in my private diary. But if I don't have an audience, then I might as well just rehash whatever it is in my mind, since I'm lazy. There are some cases where ya just gotta write stuff down, of course, but not that many. And some diaries just anger me- literally, just looking at them angers me. People talk for something to say, and say fluff. People use their diary as a weapon, or a tool, and that's fine as long as it doesn't bother me (needless to say, it often does.) Like, platforms bashing gays, or abortion, and stuff. I guess that's no worse than bashing Catholics, which a lot of people do (but I'd find it more excusable to bash people about their behaviour rather than their orientation.) And I frickin' hate netspeak, all that fricking "How R U L8ly?" and stuff. Drives me up the wall. Fluff!

Anyway, I'm not aiming to be as good as QS. Right now, I'm aiming to be me, as hard as possible. :)


8:57pm

I was gonna suggest inviting Alex anyways, sure, that'd be cool. I'm spending all Saturday making a giant Rice Crispie Blob, full bag of marshmallows, full box of rice crispies, and the giant wok. :) Yay! If they like stuff other than iced tea or Dr. Pepper, you'd better let me know- we're pretty entrenched :) Apparently, Future Shop has "Amelie" on sale for $27- gonna get it Saturday. :) I'll DRIVE THERE. :)))) We'll stock up on freezies, too. If someone wants to bring another DVD, tell them to. Like I said, R doesn't get off work til 6pm, so we won't be home til 7:30pmish.


10:50pm

Still revelling in the fact that after only 3 days, Daddy let me drive on the road and I did well and he complimented me! My Dad, who thinks no one else is competent on the road but him (I privately agree), whose knuckles turn white when Mum drives, who is totally retentive and critical when it comes to driving, thinks I'm a good driver. :) This is doing a lot for father-daughter quality time, I should have done this years ago, we coulda bonded during the bad times... But then, maybe I wasn't ready to take instruction then. But I'm having so much fun now :)

And he and Mum savaged my Rice Crispie Blob this morning, and he took some to work for lunch, and said that after my Rice Crispie Blob, "coffee is very... plain..." (That was a sort of compliment... sort of... it's just cuz I put too much marshmallow in, so it's really sticky and gooey and sweet, which he's not used to. :) Yay!

(I'm in a happy place.)


Readin' "Thr Truth" (Pratchett)
Listenin' to computer humming?
Thinkin' about reading and R coming home.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?