Saturday, Nov. 30, 2002 - 11:16 AM

Some high times. People who don't know me that well are often surprised when I explain one of my main hobbies is... silver-cleaning.
I know. It's weird.
It's the whole satisfaction of taking something really black and dirty and making it shiny and clean again. Spice Girl? You betcha!

So, since C + Family are coming over tonight for dinner, Mum had me cleaning all the silver yesterday (which I was quite happy to do.) Spent literally 4 hours without stopping on the big silver Sheffield Plate samovar, which has lots of fiddly bits. It was literally black with tarnish, now you can see your face in it. I went to bed reeking of tarnish remover, tasting of silver polish (every time I licked my lips, I could taste it), and unable to move my right arm, which hurt like a bitch. AND there's no heating in my room and it's cold without someone in bed with me ;)

Speaking of... R and I are playing hookey on his staff party ;) We're gonna go back to his place instead and have our OWN party ;) Sounds like a good way to start Monday morning to me :) We're discussing getting Parents those gift certificates to the Learning Lectures at the LCBO, for X-Mas, especially as they now have a deal where they give you passes to the Monet exhibit too. Hopefully we'll be able to afford something marginally interesting. And apparently, R went into the Laura Secord to check (isn't he sweet? I wouldn't have bothered), and they haven't looked at ANY resumes yet, they haven't had the time. Maybe next week, after I'm done my last essay (don't think I'm gonna do the stupid Adorno precis thingy, it's optional anyway), I'll swing by and pressure them. Makes me feel better to know that tho- less down on myself. Anyway, everything's going well, so far ;) Except for my cold, lonely nights....*hint*


1:42pm

Still haven't eaten, but going to in a minute. Spent the morning cleaning the kitchen floor (I spilled a lot of tarnish remover on it yesterday), and the bath (cuz I washed off all our big silver pieces in there.) Not stiff anymore ;) Was thinking during shower tho, about my ongoing passion for silver. As far as I can remember, I've always preferred silver to gold. I've been wearing a silver ring for a year and a half now, and all the lines on my finger are worn away. It would be neat, to entrepreneur myself with a small silver-cleaning business, or something. I'd enjoy that. Oh ye simple creatures...

There was something on my mind when I started writing, but I've forgotten.

RIGHT! From here, Star Trek "Enterprise" Haikus. May favourite is

Hey Trip, put your hands
Into this bowl of pebbles
You won't get knocked up

(It was an episode where Trip got close to an alien and unwittingly had alien sex with her and got pregnant. It was funny.)

Anyway, lunch is boiling (soup, dumbass. It's MEANT to boil.) Tally-ho!


Readin' anything at all
Listenin' to the fridge?
Thinkin' about FOOD!

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?