Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2005 - 10:21 AM

So: Turdlet. We saw him on the Humane Society's website last week, and followed up the link to the Toronto Animal Services. Rick was pretty sure "Ernie" was the one - a light browny-grey tabby with distinctive black striping and a little white chin, about 3 months old. So we took the cat carrier and the $100 Granny sent for "home improvements" and hopped the bus to Sheppard West, to TAS North York. Let me tell you, the "officer" working there was NOT a people person. He may have been an animal person, but DEFINITELY not a people person. So we walked around looking at all the visible cats while he pretended he'd called someone to show us "Ernie". We waited for about 20 minutes, and Rick had actually found a runner-up, who was looking at us and the cat-carrier very excitedly, which was sad. Eventually a woman came out, and looked Ernie up, and said he'd been in the sick-room for the last 9 days. I'd called the day before, and whoever I talked to said he was fine, no signs of illness, so there was a brief little Thing about that. They did seem rather incompetant in their organization, really. Anyway, so we demanded to go see Ernie anyway, and the woman led us through a maze of buildings. I happened to glance right, and there was a dead deer on a table with a dead dog right under it. I mean, it's not like they were hiding it or anything. Weird. So the woman pulled Ernie out of the cage, and Rick fell in love with him, so we got him on the spot. One endearing feature is that he didn't stop purring the whole time we were holding him (and still doesn't.) The vet couldn't even get his heart-rate because he wouldn't stop purring. Very cute. Also a little bit of a perv - I tend to sleep nekkid, especially when it's hot, and I woke up a couple of night ago to find him happily sucking on my secondary sexual characteristics. Was most horrified, although Rick thought it was hilarious - until Turdlet did the exact same thing to him. "We will never speak of this again." :)

Also, we finally went to the zoo. After nearly 5 years. :) Hooray!

Off to eat my popcorn-breakfast in peace, while Turdlet's still on the floor licking himself.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?