Tuesday, Sept. 06, 2005 - 12:34 PM

Days go by slowly, time goes by fast here. I'm always physically tired, since I have to bike everywhere. PEOPLE: DON'T TAKE YOUR CAR FOR GRANTED! There never seems to be enough time in a day to do everything I want, and mundane tasks wear me down faster - I can't concentrate on anything for more than 10 minutes at a time. Even baths; I can't even have a longer-than-10-minute bath.

This may partly be due to the stress of trying to integrate 2 kitties into a happy household. They seem determined to fight, and the problem is that they also seem fairly evenly matched, so no clear victor emerges. Also, Turdlet doesn't seem to understand that once you've been smacked down, you STAY down and don't try to run after the victor clamping onto a leg. Nibbley's gotten into the nasty habit of biting him in the nuts when she gets irritated with him, and he growls and yowls most pitifully, a baby unfairly being beaten up (despite being the original attacker.) They're slowly calming down, and seem to resent being separated, but I think it'll be a good couple of weeks at least until there's no more fighting.

Jamie came in around 1am this morning, and is currently putting me to shame by galivanting around U of T doing grad school stuff. I think maybe in another year, I'll be ready to go back to school. I'd rather work for the moment. I'd rather crave to do a masters than just merely like the idea of it. It has to be useful to me; I've run out of patience for useless pieces of paper.

It's been exactly a month since we moved in, and things have been going pretty well. In all truth, we haven't had too much time together to explore the area, go shopping, relax... I'm hoping to get more weekends off, so we can find out what this place is all about. We had breakfast at Golden Griddle yesterday with Katie, which was SO nice because we haven't really indulged since we moved in, haven't gone out to eat (except once at Mandarin), haven't taken time out to relax. Of course, I did get a new perspective last night when Jay came in, and pointed out the stereo, the huge TV, the huge microwave, the "his 'n hers" desks, the couch, the kitties, the fishy bathroom, and said that we live well. I suppose I knew it already, but it took her straight-from-Shanghai eyes to show me how truly lucky we are. Sure, there's cat hair on everything, and cat toys all over the floor, and no proper dining table or chairs, and construction noises at 7am... but we are damn lucky. Hopefully I'll remember that.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?