2000-11-23 - 03:37:25

Coming Up

our father who art in a penthouse

sits in his 37th floor suite

and swivels to gaze down

at the city he made me in

he allows me to stand and

sollicit graffiti until

he needs the land I stand on

I in my darkened threshold

am pawing through my pockets

the receipts, the bus schedules

the matchbook phone numbers

the urgent napkin poems

all of which laundering has rendered

pulpy and strange

loose change and a key

ask me

go ahead, ask me if I care

I got the answer here

I wrote it down somewhere

I just gotta find it

I just gotta find it

somebody and their spraypaint got too close

somebody came on too heavy

now look at me made ugly

by the drooling letters

I was better off alone

ain't that the way it is

they don't know the first thing

but you don't know that

until they take the first swing

my fingers are red and swollen from the cold

I'm getting bold in my old age

so go ahead, try the door

it doesn't matter anymore

I know the weakhearted are strongwilled

and we are being kept alive

until we're killed

he's up there the ice

is clinking in his glass

he sends his little pieces of paper

I don't ask

I just empty my pockets and wait

it's not fate

it's just circumstance

I don't fool myself with romance

I just live

phone number to phone number

dusting them against my thighs

in the warmth of my pockets

which whisper history incessantly

asking me

where were you

I lower my eyes

wishing I could cry more

and care less,

yes it's true,

I was trying to love someone again,

I was caught caring,

bearing weight

but I love this city, this state

this country is too large

and whoever's in charge up there

had better take the elevator down

and put more than change in our cup

or else we

are coming

up

-Ani Difranco


the angry girl is back. and i admit, sometimes i wanted to be a pretty girl, but i never was- you can't be pretty and passionate at the same time.and every time they thought i was cute and small and helpless, there was always some inner drive, frustration, anger, resentfulness, that made me hit back, mademe push them away, made me try to get them to understand, that i can't act my life, that i can't pretend, that i can't be what they want; that i am not a pretty girl.

So. i didn't do it, dumbass. It has nothing to do with me, little man. I don't care anymore, You. You. So hard, not to let go, but to admit there's nothing left i want to hold on to... and yet, every time i talk to you (because you don't talk, you're merely a facilitator for my ends), i wish it back, the laughter, the love, the intense, intense emotion... that's one thing none of you can ever say. you can't say i didn't affect you. if not as a girlfriend, then as a best friend. you can't say i didn't change you, at least for a while. i will not do things half-assedly. double or nothing. but i'm tired of affecting, tired of changing, tired of impacting. [how egocentric of me.] i just want to be, hassle-free.

so anyway, as of now, i draw a line. if it's not on my terms, i don't want it. no more mercy-ANYTHING. i don't want it. cuz it always seems like as soon as you're done, any of you, in the vast myriad of ways in which that phrase can be taken, then you lose interest. and i can't afford to waste my time anymore. as i seem to remember recently, "I'll be your friend, I'll be here for you, but I am not here to absorb your abuse. I am not here to be used." It works both ways, Cheri.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?