2001-05-26 - 7:33 p.m.

;) things are going well. despite moments of panic, Accu-tech was fun, Andy was really nice and it was great to see KM again. Rick called me at work, which was really sweet. :) i got junk food at pharmaplus, which daddy and i ate in the car, and garlic bread and white chocolate chips to melt and put on the peach cake (gonna do it with peaches tomorrow) i'm going to make. bought a bunch of carnations for mum, too, white ones. we went to pick her up at Mass, she was all happy with the flowers, i think maybe flower-addiction is a lambert thing; Granddad used to get all the family women flowers for xmas, and easter, and birthdays... i've only started missing that in the last few years, when i could really appreciate it. when I turned 12, Granddad buried a red rose in a coffee jar in the garden, without telling anyone. When i turned 13, he took me into the back yard and dug it up. It had rotted, but because it was airtight, it hadn't decomposed. I thought it was the most romantic gesture in the world, even then. He died 7 months later. I guess that's why flowers mean so much to me, especially roses... associate them with Granddad. Love. Respect. A LOT of respect. Security, too. I miss him a lot. It's going to be weird, this summer, finally putting in the gravestone, after all this time... We're getting a flat gravestone with Grandma and Granddad's names on, and a bird etched into it, cuz we're burying tweetie there too. I wonder how I'll react. If it'll open up all those scars again, or if I'll be ok, if I had enough closure before. don't know.

Sometimes, I kind of wish I were dead, just so I could say goodbye properly. So I could get a Granddad-hug again. But then I look at the people I love. It's a big trade-off. I can wait.

Might as well, when someone here reminds me of Granddad in so many ways anyway. :)


Watched "notting hill" with The Oldies, who both loved it. first time ever! all 3 of us like a movie! It's been bothering me since first time I watched it, who Anna Scott's publicist was, Julia, the red-headed woman who greets William at the door of her apartment, and who asks him if he likes Henry James when he comes to Hampton Court (i think?) Just looked her up- Lorelei King, who played Savannah on Chef! (!) The American who kept flirting with chef! like, 20 years later! or at least 10 or 15. It was bothering me SO MUCH!! ;) but now i know.


Books can be indecents books
Though recent books are bolder
For filth (I'm glad to say) is in the mind of the beholder
When correctly viewed,
Everything is lewd
I can tell you things about Peter Pan
And the Wizard of Oz
(there's a dirty old man!)


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?