2001-07-17 - 10:53 p.m.

Thank you for reminding me. (ugh, the smell of Rick's sweet&sour meatballs is overwhelming. His plate's next to me.)

My thing about God. Roight. well, see, reading that mars book of jessi's ("The Mars Way", very good), and one of the main guys says "By Mars I'll have it!" or something. Right? Except a while ago, they would have said "By God I'll have it!" Which led me to the observation that in hardly any futuristic or utopian literature does God play an important, or even minute, role. I mean, think about it- "Brave New World," "1984," "Walden II", Star Trek, most futuristic works, God is never mentioned, or only as something the "old people" believed in. In Walden II, the main representative of the community, Frasier, says "We don't tell people not to worship, but when the conditions for a perfect life are met, they give up God of their own accord." As if God is only something we use for support in times of need, and not a separate entity. I mean, my own beliefs aside, they're denying any possible truths to any of the religions because they have a perfect life on earth. does that preclude a perfect life in heaven? and do all utopians, all futurists, all men of vision, think that God, the notion of Gof, isn't capable of withstanding Man's possible development. This bothers me a bit, because right now i need to believe in God, and thousands of millions of other people believe in a god, and quite a lot because they think it's the truth, not because they want to believe in it. I've lost my train of thought now. but it bothered me.

Saw james today at the varsity. He avoided me. that was funny. Rick took me to see "Final Fantasy." Animation was incredible, almost too much to take in. Talking to mike right now, first time in ages. he must be bored. At work still, of course.

Gonna go try to pick courses again! =p Bleh.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?