Friday, Apr. 26, 2002 - 8:40 PM

Panicking (only not so much as a little while ago) about the year after next. After graduation. Suddenly found out that I do actually have a chance at getting into U of T grad school. They demand a mid-B average in your FINAL YEAR. I have that now. It could happen.
Had originally planned to take a year off and work, then go to Ryerson or something in some kind of hands-on degree thingy. But if I can get into grad school... Do I put off the Real World as much as possible? And what about money? I'll have to pay for anything by myself, where's the money going to come from? (Damn I wish I had the body to be a stripper.) I don't even know how much either program I'm looking at costs, can't find the numbers on either site (ratbastards.) M.A. Semiotics from U of T, or Certificate of Public Relations from Ryerson. Don't know how long either takes, or costs. An M.A. is better than a certificate, but which will eventually get me more money? Can I do both? =/ Seriously lost. I need to talk to Mrs. Uys. I have a serious headache from staring forlornly and in bewilderment at my screen. I'm not kidding.


10:55pm

After crying fit at Daddy for not caring about future and not knowing what to do, etc etc., have calmed down. I know in my heart that I would prefer to take a Masters degree. Whether I put in a PR certification or not first is up to me, but I'll get an M.A. eventually. But first, I have to find out how much all this costs.

In an effort to stall (you know me and deadlines for school.... =p) and add "superficiality" to my list of personal qualities, I spent some time fiddling with The Perfect Face stuff. I was depressed when I started cuz I looked at pics of what officially constitutes "ugly" and that seems awfully close to what constitutes "Kerry," but kept going out of bloody-mindedness. The idea is that the more exactly your face matches the "Golden Ratio" mask, the more beautiful you are. I disagree- I personally find that some of the faces in the "Former Eras' beauty" are BUGGLY (lit.: "butt-ugly.") All the ones without eyebrows, for example. But I can understand that, at different times, there were different standards of beauty. Granny said, a few years ago, that I was "a classical beauty" (which is a nice way of saying I don't look like Jenny, my model-cousin) and she wanted Da to sculpt me (Da did busts for people about 50 years ago. We've got one of Daddy when he was about 8, on the mantelpiece. I buff his nose when we have guests.) Da doesn't do sculpting anymore so he didn't, but he let me use his glass-engraver instead. I would have liked to have seen what I look like through his eyes tho. He's damn good.
Anyway, so I did everything they say to, with the aligning and everything, and to my surprise it's a pretty good match. My eyes are too narrow-set, and my bottom lip is too big (duh), but apparently I have a perfect forehead and perfect right side of my face (it all aligns.) Unfortunately, since Daddy was taking the pic, and he didn't really know what I was aiming for, my face is slightly turned, so while it's at the right level and all, it looks on the mask like I should have a bit more cheek than I do. And also that I need to have my eyebrows done, cuz they have no shape. The pic shows what I mean, sort of, but I didn't align it very well when I took the picture. It's a dreadful pic of me, anyway, but it worked.

I've always felt that I belong in Raphaelite Italy anyway... I look just like those fat chicks they always painted...


Rick just got cat-burgled. Literally.

I'm talking to him on the phone and suddenly he goes "There's a frickin' cat in here!" "Are you sure?" "YES! He's lookin' right at me! He's right in Matt's room!" "Really? A real cat?" "I came out here and his head kinda popped out of Matt's room and then he dashed upstairs!" That was hilarious :) He kicked the poor kitty out into the rain cuz the horrible spaws of Satan upstairs are allergic. Poor kitty...


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?