Sunday, Sept. 08, 2002 - 10:03 PM

Festival's over and the urge is upon me. Every summer, before school, I do an informal "summing up" of how much I've grown, what I've learned over the summer, how much I've matured. My parents both said I'd matured a TON, and that I was way more street-wise (true; that's what I like about Cabbagetown- you dress like a ho, people assume you're a ho and treat you like a ho. No bullshit.) I remember how shocked my Dad was once when he was warning me about the beer store on Gerrard and Ontario street, that I should stay away from the drunks and crazy bums (I laughed and pointed out I probably knew half of them by name anyway.) And I'm not scared to walk around there by myself at night. And now that I know a bunch of Regent Park inhabitants, a) I don't think of them as "denizens" anymore, b) I'm not scared, and c) I know if I ever need anything, Khadhar and Pokey will be there for me. ;) Dey gotz mah back.

School's tomorrow. I haven't packed, or made lunch, or dug out a binder and paper. I have one anthro at Sid Smith, and the other at Vic. But I need to get this out, finish it up, closure it, so I can start something new and fresh tomorrow (even if I am going back to the BIA Wednesday.) So I think, in my typical way, I'm going to sum up how I've grown this summer:


A lot has happened this summer. Before I cut my finger, and after I cut my finger (or if you prefer, Before BIA and After BIA.) I'll be starting the first day of the last year of the first day of the rest of my life tomorrow (did that make sense to you?) This is my last year before this thing called Real Life. I'm nervous, but more than anything, I'm excited :) After Festival, school is easy.

I bought $35's worth of home-made soap today (Lush-type, only WAY better, made by one of the vendors). 15 different soaps! I showered with the sage one, I was ACTUALLY squeaky-clean, and now my face feels really soft ;) I feel pampered and non-garbage-smelling.

To everyone who cheered me on this summer, to everyone who was there for me to whine or complain or grouse at when I came home, for everyone who enjoyed the term "Grass Nazi", for everyone who left encouraging notes, or maybe merely smiled at the right time: thank you. My most deeply-felt thanks. :) I can feel deeply again. I'm real again. In real time, feeling the sensations around me. I'm deep-rooted and well-grounded. Thank you for this start into Real Life. Thank you.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?