Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2002 - 8:54 AM

Well, I washed my Cabbagetown flag and my jeans last night, only to discover that I'd left my schedule in my pants pocket. Little bits of sched all over everything. =p Feel dumb. Just checked on ROSI- got 4th year semiotics on 3rd floor of Old Vic (DAMMIT! those stairs are KILLERS!), and then, right after, 3 hours of "Philosophy of Language" at UC (where is 244?) That's the course I'm 90% going to drop, I just have to make sure I want to drop it.

Yesterday was good. First anthro class contained many undesirables (half the semiotics graduating class; Sarah-Kristen's-friend-from-first-year-who's-a-bitch; Steve Kato, the one person REALLY capable of pissing me off; Ashley a.k.a. Physicsboy...) But it was a good course. The prof looks like a cross between Mr. Seltzer and "Woogie" from "Something About Mary." Felt bad for him- he kept dropping things, sat down on his desk, accidentally pushed his book bag off, then pushed his open Coke into it. Nerves. But the course is fascinating. "Language and Power Structure." He wants us to do a field report, so I think I'm going to do it on how Sue Johansen controls and uses her power and authority, and equality how she mitigates it, through language.

Second course was, obviously, a riot. Ashley's in that one too, as is half the semiotics department (all 10 of us.) So was Megan Young- that was a surprise. Haven't seen her since grade 7. Danesi had everyone cracking up for 2 hours. Share's really missing out.

Had a long shower with my nice soap last night (I've pinpointed it- "Jay's Gourmet Lemon Twist"- blue and yellow swirls.) It's a nice feeling, showering for enjoyment, as opposed to relaxation or getting clean. Brought one to keep at Rick's, green tea and peppermint. Nice clean smell. ;) For some reason, the soaps are making me so happy. It's like having clean clothes and great perfume and a good hair day, all in one. Couldn't even find my spare hair elastic today, tho. =p

Going out to C,T/M with Michelle at 3:30-ish, hanging out for a couple of hours, then R's meeting me at The Big Turkey (Robarts) at 6:30 and coming to class with me. That'll be neat. As much as I'm not really worrying about tomorrow being September 11 (didn't it just used to be a date before?), I'm glad neither of us will be downtown. I'll be working at the BIA, and he's got the day off.

Thinking about showers again. Gonna head off to class in half an hour. Spent most of yesterday walking around trying to remember who people were. I was so glad to run into Helene- something like that can really cheer you up, when you're feeling small and unnoticeable. Guess it's the effect of moving from a small-business atmosphere into a big-business atmosphere. Mum's coworker Julia went to the Festival and she said it was great ;) Good times. And Joice left me a phone msg. yesterday going "Hi, it's Joice Guspie [as if I didn't know?]... Guys, I'm lonely....." ;) I know how she feels. It'll be good to be back tomorrow.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?