Tuesday, Sept. 03, 2002 - 9:34 PM

Tired. Actually, I'm gonna go have a shower now.

Ok, back (9:54pm). Damn I wish we had a bath.

Byron is getting really excited on this business/secretary thing. He's kinda freaking me out, actually (partly because that would involve a semi-permanent ongoing relationship with Byron, which I hadn't really bargained on; partly because he's at least somewhat insane; partly cuz it seems like a lot more work than I had in mind for a PT job; also several other reasons.) But the money's decent and the autonomy's good and the perks are friendly (phone, possible laptop, work from home/school/Tim Horton's/Second Cup/wherever.) I'm not going to turn other offers down tho, if they're good and STABLE.

Other than that... went to the AGO with my Dad ;) You'll all be proud to hear I set off the proximity alarm. ;) See? I DON'T do it just for Bill (admittedly, Eddy asked me if Bill came to my rescue in a yellow Home Hardware thong... he didn't....) There wasn't much, it was msotly sketchwork, no major pieces. Nothing that really caught my eye. A couple of Picasso's, a couple of Dali sketches, lots of Miro, a room full of Andre Masson and one of Man Ray, whom I don't really like. There was one that I loved tho- Roy's "Invitation On A Voyage." It was a plain room, small, tall green walls, wooden floor, wooden ceiling. Top left, tall narrow window. Center-right, door, no handle. Center, straw chair, obviously meant to be reminiscent of the one in Van Gogh's Bedroom In Arles. Right wall, crossed spears. Above the spear, two paintings- the left, an erupting volcano, the right, blue-ish but half-hidden. I liked it because it was one of the few paintings that evoked anything in me- the chair representing insanity, madness, creativity, imagination. The bare, stark walls, the too-high window, the plain floor, all emphasizing dispair, trapped feelings, cage-like, helplessness. The volcano, both a violent image and a culmination, a climax. The handleless door, no escape. The harpoons, the final (and only possible) journey. I loved it.

Anyway, Festival starts tomorrow. Film Fest at the Winchester. Eddy and I better get free tickets dammit, after all that faxing!!!!


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?