Monday, Sept. 16, 2002 - 7:17 PM

Saw Kirk today. Strange... there was recognition, and a desire to talk on my part (apparently not on his?), but no common ground. Like, "Hey... how's it going... great.... whatcha doin'?... Great... sooo....." kind of thing. Saddened me, cuz I used to really love hanging out with him- "one of the boys." Guess we really don't have anything in common anymore. Like so many others.... Sometimes I feel I should reach out more (damn the Beatles- "Hey Jude" just keeps coming back to me.) And then I keep reminding myself that every time I try, my attempts either drag out and die a painful, lonely little death, or go unanswered completely. Sometimes, it's just not right. Not the right time, or place, or people. Like when I try to talk to Mike- I'd love to, he was an awesome guy, but maybe ICQ isn't the best mode of communication; maybe it's just me. Same with Mike Manni, and Ashley- would love to talk, especially with Mike, because I feel he really is a cool guy under the frat boy exterior, but circumstances (read: Michelle dating ;) make it awkward, so I ignore them (or, as we saw today, get hurriedly and unsubtly pushed out of the room in front of them by Michelle. Good times...) On the whole, isn't it just easier to maintain the status quo? Still... I miss Kirk.

Saw Michi today, too. I was just complaining I hadn't seen him yet when Michelle pointed him out, waving. DAMN he looks good. Been touring all over Vancouver and Europe with his gf. Looks like Matt Leblanc with a Van Dam body. DAMN! It was so great to see him again, and I got 2 hugs (Michelle was miffed because she didn't get any, but as I pointed out, a) I don't have a reason to be awkward around Michi, and b) I've known him for SEVENTEEN YEARS [ye gods I feel old!], so I have a right to 2 hugs ;) ) I was like "awwwww, man, I missed you!" and he's patting me on the back going "It's ok, I'm here now..." ;) Awwww. He's a godfather now, his friend Jason in BC just had a baby. Strange... our gen's having babies. Rick's friend Fazil had a boy in June. Michi's friend. I'm feeling both old and nesty. I WANNA KITTY, DAMMIT!

It was good to hang out and really reconnect with Michelle, too. It's so much easier without other people around, so she has to have different faces. We're going to the Brunny, Thursday night (maybe Jimmy'll be there, and we'll get free drinks ;) It'll be good to have a Night Out. ;)


Readin' "The Fifth Elephant" (Pratchett)
Listenin' to Daddy's slide projector
Thinkin' about ;) today. Meeting Michi.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?