Friday, Oct. 11, 2002 - 1:58 PM

From The Complete Bushisms:

"I was proud the other day when both Republicans and Democrats stood with me in the Rose Garden to announce their support for a clear statement of purpose: you disarm, or we will."
�Speaking about Saddam Hussein, Manchester, N.H., Oct. 5, 2002

"People say, how can I help on this war against terror? How can I fight evil? You can do so by mentoring a child; by going into a shut-in's house and say I love you."
�Washington, D.C., Sept. 19, 2002

"There's an old saying in Tennessee�I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee�that says, fool me once, shame on�shame on you. Fool me�you can't get fooled again."
�Nashville, Tenn., Sept. 17, 2002

"See, we love�we love freedom. That's what they didn't understand. They hate things; we love things. They act out of hatred; we don't seek revenge, we seek justice out of love."
�Oklahoma City, Aug. 29, 2002

"I promise you I will listen to what has been said here, even though I wasn't here."
"I can assure you that, even though I won't be sitting through every single moment of the seminars, nor will the vice president, we will look at the summaries."
"Tommy [Thompson, Health and Human Services secretary,] is a good listener, and he's a pretty good actor, too."
�Waco, Texas, Aug. 13, 2002

"Anyway, I'm so thankful, and so gracious�I'm gracious that my brother Jeb is concerned about the hemisphere as well."
�Miami, Fla., June 4, 2001


His speech-writers must just cry at night...

I was gonna complain about being slighted (Eddie, who wanted to quit 5 times during the summer and I talked him out of it, not that he would have had the guts to quit anyway, is still working at the BIA. Definitely feel gypped. That's company loyalty for you...) But I'm in too good a mood now ;) Bush always moves me, one way or another.


5:40pm

On C's recommendation, I checked out Rich's blog. I loved it. Really funny. I tend to think like that, but usually forget by the time I come to write it down. It's sort of strange- I don't think I heard him say more than 20 words while he was here, but his page is very vocal. Maybe C's right...

Sometimes I wonder what happened to all the cool stuff in me when I suddenly went from Young to Old. Well, Older. C seems as young, joyful, life-containing as ever (I'm thinking specifically of the "Kangaroo" analogy- it would never have occured to me to parse a problem like that.) When did I lose all my vitality? My bounce? When did I stop really giggling?

Thinking of Freud's "Mourning and Melancholia" and "Beyond The Pleasure Principle." As much as I thought it was blarney while we were talking about it in class, is it possible I have some death-drive thing going? Don't think I'm willing to bend that far- maybe I'm just becoming re-jaded again. Listening to my baby tapes more and more- I was so excited then! Everything was cool and new! You could get really pumped about the colour blue! Why doesn't that happen anymore? Why is everything so much more complex? Why does it take more to be happy?

Maybe because I just don't get the same validation from people now when I point out that Christopher Robin's shirt is blue.


11:04pm

What is it about Thanksgiving that turns me into a creepy Jekyll&Hyde-like creature? Every single year, I swear I'm going to barricade myself in my room and have pizza helicoptered in; every year, I get sucked into people-oriented celebrations full of things I don't really like, cranberry sauce and turkey and what have you (I'm down with stuffing, yo), and I turn into this evil insult-spewing ho. Why is that?? My earliest memory of Thanksgiving (or the earliest one I can readily identify as such) was at Grandma & Granddad's- I think I'd had a fight with my mom, and refused to come downstairs for dinner, so they had it without me while I barricaded myself (see, I had the right idea early on) into my fold-out bed. (It used to fold into vague house-like structure that was incredibly uncomfortable to sit in, and fairly stuffy, but had the redeeming quality of proving I Was Angry.) I remember being convinced (either by my father or grandfather) to come downstairs, and ate dinner on my knees, in the kitchen- Granddad had done that cool thing with the mashed potatoes that he used to do for me, where he'd bake a pot of mashed potatoes, then sort of chip off the crispy top bit and slather it in butter for me. That's my earliest Thanksgiving memory.

(Not much has changed since then, evidently.)

Just hoping I can get through the next 3 days without killing myself or someone else.


Readin' nuttin'
Listenin' to nuttin'
Thinkin' about nothing really

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?